Quick Take-Along Egg Sandwich (No Pans Required!)

20 Jul

The to-go breakfast is really hard, isn’t it? Pop-Tarts make me crave sugar for the rest of the day, healthier cereal bars leave me hungry an hour later, and I have a hard time doing peanut butter, even on toast, before 10 a.m. And even on mornings when I’m not flying out the door, the thought of having a sink full of dishes to do is usually enough to convince me against anything hot for that all-important first meal.

A few months ago, I found the answer.

Did you know you can scramble eggs in your microwave? I did not. Now granted, I’m slower than most, but I always believed that eggs would explode in the food nuker. Happiness ensued when I read how simple it is to whip up the perfect scrambled egg right there in the microwave.

With that out of the way, making a hot breakfast that’s easy to take along was a snap.

Take-Along Egg Sandwich

1 egg

1 English muffin

1 slice cheese of your choice

Butter or butter spray

Pop your English muffin in the toaster. While that gets hot and yummy, spray the inside of a microwave-safe mug with cooking spray or olive oil, crack the egg in there, and give it a good whip with a fork. Do not add water! Nuke your egg for about 30 seconds, depending on the strength of your microwave.

When the muffin pops, butter it a little bit and lay your slice of cheese on one side. Tip the egg out of the mug on to the cheese, and top it with the other half-muffin. Wrap your sandwich in a bit of waxed paper, and off you go.

This morning, I put a slice of perfect farm-market tomato between the muffin and the cheese, and the hot egg melted the cheese and heated up my tomato, and I was in summer breakfast heaven. And not hungry several hours later.

Of course, you can jazz up your egg with chopped onion, peppers, spinach…whatever you like.

Easy peasy breakfast YUM!

5 Responses to “Quick Take-Along Egg Sandwich (No Pans Required!)”

  1. Heather July 20, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    This is by far, one of my favorite breakfasts but I have been skipping it lately because of the egg preparation – just too much while fixing breakfast for 4 little mouths, too. I’m going to give the microwaved egg a try tomorrow. 🙂

  2. Tracey July 21, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    I’m going to have to give this one a whirl – that sandwich looks tasty!!

  3. Susan July 21, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I used your egg in a mug suggestion this morning to make breakfast tacos for the boys. So easy! Thanks for the tip.

  4. Meredith Mcgee Kelly July 21, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Kim…
    Thanks for taking the mystery out of microwaving an egg! I’ve always wanted to figure it out, but never made time to do so. Thanks to you eggs are no longer for weekends only! -mer

  5. Carrie August 3, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    This is genius! Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

