Leftover Tian Omelet

5 Aug

I guess we should call this one “Playing with my Breakfast,” huh? 😉

I woke up this morning with a craving for a real breakfast. Something hot and stick-to-my-ribs. And savory–it had to be savory. Pancakes weren’t going to cut it today.

I knew I had eggs in the fridge, and I knew I had my leftover tian, which incorporated some of the freshest tastes of summer. I also had some leftover shredded cheddar from last week’s fajitas, and it all came together into a summery omelet that helped use up some of the little dishes of stuff in my fridge and started my morning off on a yummy note.

A few notes on omelets: You know how everyone says to heat your pan on low when you’re making eggs? That’s true for scrambled eggs–they come out fluffy and soft cooked long and slow. But for omelets, you want to build up a little crust on the outside so things won’t fall apart when you fold your masterpiece over in the pan. Pretty omelets require medium heat. You want those eggs to sear up a bit so you can flip them over without making scrambled eggs with vegetables and cheese (not that there’s anything wrong with that, of course).

I’m also going to let you in on an ingredient secret. Everybody puts onions in their omelets. But they don’t taste like onions in all that egg. Ever notice that? The point of the onions is crunch. They just add a little texture to the dish. So you can cheat and use frozen chopped onions here–grab a handful, run them under cold water for a second to thaw them, give them a squeeze to get rid of the extra water, and toss them into your hot pan. Nobody will ever know. There are always frozen chopped onions in my freezer–they’re cheaper and easier than using fresh sometimes, and in a meal like this, no one knows the difference.

This was a simple breakfast. I think it took five or six minutes, start to finish, and it was delicious. If you don’t have leftover tian, just dice up some tomatoes and beans, asparagus, peas–whatever summer vegetable you have around.

To make my leftover tian omelet, you’ll need:

Two eggs (or an egg and two whites, or four whites)

A tablespoon of chopped onion, frozen or fresh

About two tablespoons of leftover tian, given a quick chop (or just some chopped veggies)

Two tablespoons of shredded cheese–I used cheddar because that’s what I had.

Heat your omelet pan (usually an 8-inch fry pan) over medium heat and either melt a tiny bit of butter in there or spray it with olive oil (use nonstick spray if you’re using a nonstick pan). Toss in your onion and let them get a little soft, which only takes a minute or two.

Add the chopped vegetables and let them warm up.

Whip your eggs up in a bowl (don’t add water or milk) and pour them into the pan, stirring to distribute the veggies evenly. Let it sit, undisturbed for a minute or two to set up, and then gently lift the edges and tilt the pan to let the liquid egg run underneath. Give that a few minutes to set, and try it again. Repeat until most of the liquid egg is gone from the top.

Now, give your eggs an extra minute. I know you think they’re done, but just hang in there. You want that crust on the bottom, remember? Pretty omelet.

Sprinkle the cheese over half the egg mixture, and gently fold the omelet in half, so the plain half is on top of the cheese half. Turn off your heat and slide your breakfast onto a plate.

I can’t think of a better way to start a summer morning.

Leave a Reply

