Birthday Shout-Out

17 Aug

I’m 40.

Today.

Today, I’m 40. How the hell did that happen?

I am not complaining by any stretch–my dear friend died this year at 37, so every year I get now feels like a bonus. I made it to 40! Yay me! DH took me to Central Michel Richard, which was wonderful and amazing and such fun! And my super sweet, , awesome group of close girlfriends threw me a wonderful surprise dinner last night, with delicious food and lots of wine (and a margarita–thanks Amy!) and a whole pile of amazing gifts that were perfect, just for me. I am still overwhelmed and feeling super blessed to be surrounded by such thoughtful, generous, heart-filling friends.

I’m giving myself a gift today. I’m cheating on you all. I mean, I’m not off sending recipes to my other blog buddies or anything, but I’m recycling an idea from an email exchange I had with a high school friend yesterday. She’s throwing a food-themed party for her daughter and asked if I had any ideas for desserts that might be fun and get the 10 year olds involved.

I thought about it and came up with an idea my friend said she liked (although maybe she was just being nice…I never know). It’s pasted below. I’m off to lunch downtown with my family, feeling very blessed. Even at 40.

The food party dessert idea:

Have you watched Chopped or Food Network Challenge or Iron Chef? You know how they get baskets with “mystery ingredients” that they have to use?

Give each girl a “mystery ingredient,” but make them different so they don’t all come back with the same thing. Somebody gets a banana, somebody gets peanut butter, somebody gets maraschino cherries, etc. Put them on teams of two or three if you have a lot, with each team having its own ingredient, but where each girl makes her own thing.

You start out with pre-mixed up brownie batter and some cupcake liners–the foil or silicone if you can get them. And then you have your “pantry” with other things–ice cream, whipped cream, crushed peppermint, crushed oreos, mini-marshmallows, M&Ms, etc. And it’s like Iron Chef. The girls each make a dessert that must use the mystery ingredient, in combination with anything else they want. So they could bake their ingredients into a brownie cupcake (which is what you’re making with the tins and the brownie batter) or they can bake a plain old brownie cupcake and top it, or crumble it into something, or whatever.

They can mix the brownies with whatever creations they want while the pizzas bake, and then you bake off the brownies while they eat, and then they come back to assemble their finished dessert at the end. Each girl talks about her dessert to the “judges” (you or the other girls) and then there are prizes, all that sort of thing.

One Response to “Birthday Shout-Out”

  1. Sheila August 17, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    Oh no, I wasn’t just being nice — I LOVED your idea. And so did my soon-to-be 10 year-old daughter, my sometimes grouchy husband and all my neighbors whom I told. I can’t wait to do it on Sunday – I’ll let you know how it goes. I’m excited to brainstorm all of the mystery ingredients and pantry items for the desserts…

Leave a Reply

