Salmon Three Ways

21 Aug

Yesterday was one of Those Fridays. You know those Fridays? Three errands to run, several hours of work to do (interrupted, oh, a thousand times by bickering, whining, end-of-summer children; I love them, I love them, I love them.), two hours at the pool to placate said end-of-summer moppets, showers, a mountain of paperwork and bills, and then…dinner.

Dinner. I forgot about dinner.

These are the nights I’m thankful for frozen salmon. I buy big bags of frozen filets at Sam’s Club just for nights like Friday–nights that would otherwise find us wolfing down delivery pizza or greasy Chinese food because life got in between me and the stove. They defrost in a snap in a bowl of lukewarm water and they cook in no time, with so much natural flavor that they don’t need a lot of spices or sauces on top.

DH had another late night at work, which meant we were eating after the kids’ bedtime again–not unusual for many of us, I’m sure. So I defrosted the salmon in water while the kids showered and put a pot of rice on the stove.

The first way I cooked salmon was for the kids, and it couldn’t be simpler. I used salmon and honey. That’s it. Spread the honey on top of the salmon and bake it at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until cooked through. It’s sweet and delicious with a beautiful golden crunch on top, and they gobbled it down. Hello, Omega 3s, and nobody fussed! Score!

DH and I have different tastes in fish, so I lined two small baking dishes with foil and sprayed them with olive oil. His fish got just a sprinkle of lemon juice and some pepper, and then the same baking treatment as the kids’. If I’d had fresh dill, I’d have chopped some of that and sprinkled it on top of the cooked fish, but I didn’t  and he didn’t miss it. Easy peasy.

I’m a little more complex, but it’s still really easy. I threw my fish into a plastic bag while the kids’ fish cooked, with about a tablespoon each of honey and lime juice, and a few pinches of chili powder. And then later, that baked for about 10 minutes; I like my salmon rare (raw, if I can get sushi-grade, but rare if it’s frozen and I trust the source). So DH’s and my fish went into the oven at the same time, and I just pulled mine out a few minutes earlier than his.

So that’s salmon three ways, with no pans to scrub thanks to the foil and just a few simple ingredients. We ate a healthy, delicious dinner that made everybody happy, and I didn’t have to tip a delivery guy.

Happy Friday!

7 Responses to “Salmon Three Ways”

  1. Doran August 22, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    I can’t wait to try these recipes. I have been using your slow cooked salmon recipe ( the one with the soy-vey) it’s a hit at my house– bet these will be too!!!

  2. Mary m August 22, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    The kids have taken a recent intrest in seafood (I think it’s from all of the cooking compition shows we watch) and while salmon is already a favorite, we usually BBQ…but these methods sound quick and easy! Will check costco for the frozen fillets

  3. Missy August 24, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Your way (with the honey, lime and chili powder) sounds good…and easy. I’d really like to get my family to eating fish once a week and this sounds like a good place to start. Do you know what the brand is of the ones you get from Sams? And do they also carry that at Walmart?

  4. NatureMama September 8, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    Is there a secret to getting the honey to turn into a crunchy layer? All the honey I put on top just rolled off the salmon and into the pan–no yummy layer.

    • Kim September 8, 2010 at 9:33 am #

      Hi there.

      Hmm. I’ve never had that happen. I brush it on very lightly–just a very sheer coating. Maybe try using less? Is your oven temperature true? Perhaps it’s not hot enough and it’s melting before it can caramelize? I’m sorry that happened!

      Kim

  5. Kim September 8, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    I thought of something else–dry the salmon off well before you put the honey on. If your salmon is damp, the honey won’t stick. 🙂

    • NatureMama September 8, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

      Thank you–I’ll try both of those things. It WAS wet and had lots of honey. More doesn’t always equal better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

