DIY Little Bites

28 Aug

I will stand up and raise my hand and tell you straight-up that I don’t understand Little Bites.

My son, however, will vehemently stand and tell you how much he wants those overpriced, chemical-laden muffins packaged in little pouches and craved by elementary school students everywhere. I think they taste like plastic, to be perfectly honest, and don’t like giving my kids so many additives (not to mention the high-fructose corn syrup)–especially at close to $5 a pop–but they beg.

So last year, I got my June Cleaver on and made my own. I mean, really. They’re mini-muffins. Mix, bake, package, freeze. Done. Nothing chemical, nothing icky, and about 50 cents for the whole stinkin’ batch.

I found a recipe online that was good, but I did a few things: I lowered the fat in them, incorporated whole-wheat flour, upped the vanilla, and decreased the amount of chocolate in them. Then I got some snack-size zipper top bags and packaged them three or four to a bag. Those little bags went into a gallon-sized freezer bags, and are always ready to be tossed into a lunchbox or field trip bag. Easy peasy, kids.

Know what? Having had these, my kids now think little bites taste a lot like their packaging. And I didn’t even have to lecture them on that one. Cool, no?

To make your own mini-chocolate chip muffins, you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/8 to 1/4 cup shortening (don’t use butter–they’ll be an icky texture on the outside)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup milk (you can omit this or just use water if you have milk issues at home)
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white wheat or wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips

Heat your oven to 375 degrees and spray mini-muffin tins with cooking spray (I like the Pam with Flour, but any kind will work) Cream together shortening and sugar. Beat in egg, milk or water, and vanilla.

Stir together flours, baking soda, baking soda, and salt, and add to wet ingredients. Stir in chocolate chips. Spoon into mini-muffin tins and bake about 10 – 12 minutes, until they spring back when touched with a finger. Let cool a few minutes in the tin, and then remove them and cool them the rest of the way before packaging and freezing them.

These are also good without the milk and with a mashed banana added to the batter–bake them a few extra minutes. 🙂 This recipe doubles beautifully.

5 Responses to “DIY Little Bites”

  1. Sheila August 30, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    Another great recipe from this website! My 10 year-old daughter and I whipped these up in a few minutes before dinner and now they’re packaged in ziploc baggies in groups of three waiting to be tossed into lunches tomorrow morning. So easy and very tasty (we sampled a few as we were wrapping them up).

  2. megan September 19, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    This is a great recipe!!! My kids and husband love it.

  3. kdhfg October 24, 2016 at 5:53 pm #

    its so good my kids eat it

  4. kdhfg October 24, 2016 at 5:59 pm #

    kijiogdjgbj kg

  5. Kathy January 10, 2017 at 5:23 pm #

    Would the mashed banana replace the shortening ?

Leave a Reply

