Harvest Salad

15 Sep

A restaurant near my house has this great salad that I love.

I am not a salad eater. It’s not that I don’t like salads, but I eat one and then find myself starving an hour later, so it hardly seems worth the sacrifice when a sandwich would fill me up for longer. But that’s not true for this one. Packed with protein and some of the best flavors of fall, when apples are crisp and some of the cool-weather lettuces are sweet and crunchy, this one fills me up and makes me happy at lunchtime.

It also, sadly, is packed with calories and fat, at least at my little restaurant. So I re-created it at home. Healthy-fied. Made the way I’ve typed it out below, it’s 7 points on Weight Watchers. Reduce the dressing or use less cheese to get that number even lower. And it’s just as good as the one I eat out from time to time.

Pick a sweet lettuce mix for this. Arugula isn’t going to work with the cranberries. And your choice of dressing may vary. The restaurant offers this with a balsamic vinaigrette. I prefer a sweet onion or honey mustard but that’s my taste. You can rock this with whatever dressing makes your mouth sing.

This travels really well (pop an ice pack in the lunch bag to stave off warm-chicken ickiness later). Just don’t dress it until you’re ready to eat so you get all the crunch that makes it so good. And of course, feel free to make your own dressing–it’ll probably be better than the bottled stuff. I’m usually racing around at lunchtime and so the bottled works for me most days.

To make my harvest salad, you’ll need:

2 cups lettuce, any one or mix you like that’s not bitter

1/3 cup grilled chicken, sliced

1/3 apple, chopped

1 tbsp sliced almonds (I buy these in bags near my grocery store’s salad bar

3 tbsp Craisins or dried cranberries

2 tbsp crumbled Feta cheese

2 tbsp Ken’s Lite Sweet Vidalia dressing, or one of your choice.

Combine salad ingredients, drizzle with dressing, and enjoy.

You can share this or any post on my blog–click on the post title to go to that post alone, and then scroll to the bottom. Press the Twitter, Facebook, StumbleUpon, Email or other buttons to share with your friends. And thanks

3 Responses to “Harvest Salad”

  1. Susan Hendrickson September 15, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    I love salad and that sounds super yummy! Thanks.

  2. Doran September 15, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Yum. That will be lunch tomorrow. Thanks.

  3. Kellie September 15, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    I love Ken’s Lite Sweet Vidalia dressing. They need to make it in bulk size, we go through it so fast. Thanks for the yummy recipe, gonna try it tonight!

Leave a Reply

