Italian Eggs

16 Sep

I’ll be honest: I saw this made on Food Network’s Everyday Italian a year or two ago, and my first reaction was not very nice. I couldn’t marry the ingredients in my head. My taste buds were confused at the thought of it. But I liked all the ingredients on their own, so I gave it a whirl one morning.

Know that cliche about books and covers? Remember that. Because this is absolutely delicious. Made the right way, it gives you a great blast of whole grains and protein, which translates to energy. And I don’t know about you, but I’ll take all the energy I can get.

One of the ingredients here is a poached egg, and I know a lot of people can’t seem to master those. It took me awhile, but it’s pretty simple if you keep a few things in mind. First, you want your water just simmering. No boiling, OK? A gentle simmer is perfect. About three inches of water is perfect, too–you don’t need a whole pot. Add a teaspoon of vinegar (any kind) to the simmering water to keep the whites together, and then make sure it’s still simmering when you add the egg. If you can leave your egg out for a bit and warm it up a tad, all the better. Cold egg into simmering water usually means the end of simmering, which slows the process down.

Second, don’t go plopping your egg into the water straight from the shell. It’ll splash right down on to the bottom of the pan and stick there, and you’ll end up with a mess. Break your egg into a very small bowl or a coffee mug or a measuring cup. Hold the cup at an angle as you lower it to the water, and when the lip of it just breaks the water’s surface, gently slide the egg into the pan. Cook it until the yolk is to your desired state of doneness–spoon some of the water over the yolk from time to time if it’s floating–and remove it from the pan with a slotted spoon after three to five minutes. You can then pat it softly with a paper towel to dry it a bit. And voila–poached egg.

This is a quick one–about 10 minutes, start to finish. It’s one of my favorites and it’s really good comfort food if you ever have One Of Those Mornings, if you know what I mean. To make it, you’ll need:

1 slice toast, preferably whole-grain or dark bread, or a toasted English muffin.

1 or 2 eggs, depending on your hunger level

1 – 2 tsp tomato sauce (jarred spaghetti sauce, pizza sauce, or marinara are really good with this)

A sprinkling of shredded Parmesan cheese

Spread tomato sauce over your toasted bread, and sprinkle it with Parmesan. Poach an egg or two, dry them gently, and lay them over the sauce and cheese. Devour and be happy.

You can share this or any post on my blog–click on the post title to go to that post alone, and then scroll to the bottom. Press the Twitter, Facebook, StumbleUpon, Email or other buttons to share with your friends. And thanks!

3 Responses to “Italian Eggs”

  1. Tracey September 18, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    I’m gonna have to give this a try. I’m going to take your word for it that the egg and tomato sauce work together. I’ll let ya know my reaction.

    Thanks for the tips on poached eggs. Eggs Benedict is one of my favorite breakfast foods and I’ve never made it because I didn’t have any clue how to poach an egg. =)

  2. Emma September 20, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    I’m always too scared to use vinegar because I’m afraid it will make my egg taste like vinegar. Does it not flavor the egg at all?

  3. Kim September 20, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    No flavor, Emma. I’ve made a lot of poached eggs and never noticed vinegar in them. You’re only using a tiny bit in the water. 🙂

Leave a Reply

