Perfect Corn Chowder

27 Sep

It’s pouring down rain today. I’m wearing jeans and a cotton shirt, curled up on the couch with my laptop and work files, listening to the drops bounce off the roof and windows.

It’s a corn chowder day.

This recipe is one of my most requested. Every time I serve it or take it somewhere, someone wants to know how to make it. And they rarely believe how simple it is. It’s rich and creamy and comforting, and–surprise!!–really light, calorie-wise.

There are no potatoes in this chowder. I think that’s a good thing. I love me a good potato, but I want my corn chowder to taste like corn. Which this one does. I’ve written it using chicken because that’s usually how I make it, but you can do this with shrimp, crab, scallops, or just more corn instead of a bird. If you do use chicken, really anything you have is fine–leftover roasted or grilled chicken, pulled-apart rotisserie, or even cooked chicken strips from the grocery store’s deli department. Give it a rough chop and dump it in. It’s all good.

I adapted this recipe from Cooking Light, bumping up the veggies, playing with the spices, and adding some smoked Tabasco. You won’t believe how good that makes this.

This works great cooked early in the day and reheated, it’s a superstar of a leftover dish and gets better every day, and does really well kept hot in a slow cooker on the warm setting. I’ve set it out at parties that way–just crack the lid a bit or leave the top off so it doesn’t thin out too much.

I had a bowl for lunch today, and chances are good this will be my dinner later today. It’s that good. I hope you like it too.

To make this corn chowder, you’ll need:

Two tbsp butter (the real stuff…trust me)

Half a small or medium yellow onion, finely chopped

Two stalks of celery, finely chopped (or about 1/3 cup from the salad bar)

Two tbsp of flour (I suspect arrowroot would work if you want to go gluten-free)

3 cups lowfat milk (I use 1 percent)

1 – 2 cups cooked chicken, shrimp, crab…whatever, roughly chopped.

2 cups fresh or frozen corn kernels

1 14-oz can cream-style corn

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp dried dill weed

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 to 1 tsp smoked chipotle Tabasco

In a large saucepan or Dutch oven over medium heat, melt butter. Add onion and celery and cook until soft (about 5 minutes), stirring occasionally.

Stir in flour and cook, stirring constantly, about 1 minute (to get rid of the raw flour taste). Stir in milk, cream-style corn, corn kernels, chicken (or shrimp or crab or whatever), spices, and Tabasco.  Bring to a boil and cook until thick, about five more minutes. Ladle into bowls and sprinkle some shredded Parmesan on top if you have it.  Makes about 6 servings.

You can share this or any post on my blog–click on the post title to go to that post alone, and then scroll to the bottom. Press the Twitter, Facebook, StumbleUpon, Email or other buttons to share with your friends. And thanks!

7 Responses to “Perfect Corn Chowder”

  1. Mary m September 27, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Your recipe sounds tasty and easy! I made corn chowder for the first tie last night and it was too heavy…this one sounds better! I’m never making it withfresh corn again as my kitchen became covered in corn “milk”…

  2. Lauren May September 28, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    This was fantastic. I loved how easy it was. I added some claw meat I had in the freezer and it was really well received at my house. Excellent! Thanks, Kim!

  3. Tracey January 28, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    Okay, I wasn’t sure how easy your “easy” was going to be, but even *I* can do this. And I LOVES me some corn chowder. I’m so giving this one a whirl this weekend. Thanks!

  4. dawnspitfire March 29, 2014 at 3:50 am #

    Reblogged this on dawn spitfire's blog and commented:
    Yummo! On my list for this week!

  5. 4nana June 23, 2015 at 3:23 pm #

    I roasted half the corn (broiled per your recipe!) and pureed the other half, and used no canned creamed corn because I don’t like it…too sweet or something…. Added some chipotle chile powder for depth and smokeless. Great. Awesome. Day brightened.

  6. Constance May 31, 2016 at 3:41 pm #

    I see interesting posts here. Your website can go viral easily,
    i know sneaky way to get massive traffic from social websites.
    For more info search google for: fejlando’s tips

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. IntPiPoMo – A Date with My Husband - Ysera's Daughter - October 13, 2014

    […] my warrior and headed to Outlands.  Tonight, he invited me to group and while we ate dinner (Perfect Corn Chowder), he ran my warrior through Hellfire Ramparts and Blood Furnace.  I didn’t get any […]

Leave a Reply

