Crockpot Spanish Chicken

6 Oct

I hopped (stumbled…whatever) out of bed this morning, brushed my teeth, and checked my toes for frostbite. Holy sudden winter, Batman! My friend and I went out to exercise and as I thawed my fingers and ears afterwards, I plundered the freezer in search of ingredients. Because there was no question that tonight was the night for the year’s first batch of Spanish Chicken.

Before chili, before soups comes this recipe in our house. It is so full of flavor and so comforting and warm that I whip it up as soon as the weather turns in the fall. Everyone eats it and the best part is that it’s super light and healthy.

I use light sausage in this–I used to use Healthy Choice until that vanished from my supermarket, and have moved on to any lowfat brand on the shelf. Turkey or chicken sausage works well in this too. And searching for the “big chunks of hot dog” means my kids chow down an entire bowl without complaining once about vegetables. You do what you gotta do, right?

This is a true dice-and-dump crockpot dish. I make some rice in the morning while I’m cutting and tossing into the crock and serve it over a warmed portion later that night. I dirty one knife and one cutting board and that’s it (I eyeball spices). Which makes me very happy. This also freezes really well, which is a huge bonus. And it’s one of those meals that gets better the next day.

My friend came over tonight as this was simmering away, asked to see the recipe, and said her family wouldn’t eat artichoke. Which is really no problem. Leave them out. Ditch the olives. Switch out the veggies. This is a very forgiving dish–customize it to fit your tastes. But give it a shot. It’s just delicious.

To make this, you’ll need:

1 pound of chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces

1 pound Italian (or any) sausage, sliced

1 red or green bell pepper, chopped

1/2 a medium onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 tsp Italian seasoning

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper (boost this up if you want yours  hotter)

28 oz diced tomatoes

6o oz tomato paste

2 dried bay leaves

14 oz quartered artichoke hearts, drained (get the ones packed in water if you can)

4 oz sliced black olives

Coat a slow cooker with cooking spray or olive oil. Dump in everything but the artichokes and olives, and stir well. Cook on low 6-8 hours or on high 4 hours.

Add the artichokes and olives for the last half-hour of cooking. Fish out bay leaves and serve alone or over rice. Feeds about eight people.

You can share this or any post on my blog–click on the post title to go to that post alone, and then scroll to the bottom. Press the Twitter, Facebook, StumbleUpon, Email or other buttons to share with your friends. And thanks!

One Response to “Crockpot Spanish Chicken”

  1. Carrie October 6, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Looks delicious and I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

