Pumpkin Steel-Cut Oatmeal

7 Oct

Yes, I’m on a pumpkin binge. I have one more idea in the works for the orange wonder and then will move on. Promise. But for today, a delicious breakfast packed with vitamins and fiber and calcium and yum.

If you haven’t tried steel-cut oats (sometimes labeled as Irish oats), all I can say is that you really should. They’re the less-processed cousin of our friends, the old-fashioned oats, and have a wonderful crunch to them–nothing at all like instant oatmeal, which we’ve already decided is not our favorite. They take a little longer to cook and need a little more stirring, but are really worth it, and you can always make them at night, stick them in the fridge, and nuke them in the morning if time’s an issue. (You can also make them in your slow cooker–we’ll chat about that really soon.)

This recipe calls for pumpkin pie spice. I am not a fan of this for actual pumpkin pie. You don’t get the same depth of flavor as you do using individual spices. But for a bowl of oatmeal, it makes perfect sense–you’d use such a miniscule amount of the individual spices that the flavor is the same and this is much easier. The first time I tried this, I used far too much spice and just about burned my uvula out. So this recipe is conservative. You now know why. Up the spice to your own liking, at your own risk.

I make this with milk, but you can use water or another non-dairy milk if you have issues with the kind from cows. I’d probably stir some non-dairy half and half into the finished oatmeal if I were using water, to give it a yummy creamy consistency, and I did stir some extra milk into mine when it was cooked (after taking the above picture). I also tossed some glazed walnuts on top. They were yummy, but are optional. Raisins, dried cranberries, or banana slices would also be good, I think.

This should double or triple just fine if you want to make a bunch for the week. To make it, you’ll need:

1 cup milk (or water or an alternative kind of milk), plus more for eating.

1/4 cup steel-cut or Irish oats

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

2 tsp brown sugar (or 1 tsp brown sugar Splenda), or some honey, to taste

In a small pan (I used my 8-inch saucier), stir together all the ingredients. Bring to a simmer over medium heat and then lower the burner to low, stirring frequently for about 20 minutes or until oats are still crunchy but the pan looks creamy and delicious. Stir in your extras and serve.

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Steel-Cut Oatmeal”

  1. Chef Danielle October 11, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I tried steel cut oats in the crock pot a couple of weekends ago and was a little disappointed. The flavor was spot on — I add a little maple syrup & brown sugar – but the consistency was mush. I cooked them on low, which was still apparently too high. I’m going to give them another try by cooking them on warm to see if their telltale bite will stick around. Can’t wait to see your thought/suggestions on cooking them in a crock pot.

    • Kim October 11, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      Try cooking them and then letting them sit for awhile. Now you’ve got me curious about using the warm setting. Hmmmm. ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

