Pumpkin Spice Coffee

8 Oct

I was all set to head to Starbucks this afternoon when it hit me that I was about to pay something like $4 for a cup of coffee and deal with my two hyper kids inside their lovely shop, which is a whole ‘nother ball of wax. But I really wanted a pumpkin spice latte (told you I was on a binge).

So I made one.

This isn’t my recipe, although I did cut the sugar in it. It’s all over the Internet–g’head and search it and you’ll see. I have no clue who first wrote it. But it’s really good, and gave me enough pumpkin spice cream mixture for at least two big cups of coffee.

I’m about to say something that I’ll never repeat so long as I live. If you’re making a big batch of this, go ahead and use imitation vanilla.

I know.

You just fainted.

I threw up in my mouth a bit typing it, but I don’t think you’ll notice the difference in a coffee, and a tablespoon of vanilla per two cups is a whole lot to be doling out if you’re using the real, expensive stuff. So grab a bottle of the el cheapo fake stuff at the grocery store–hide it under a magazine on the belt so your neighbors don’t see–and make sure you only use it to make this.

Besides saving money, you’ll save muchos calories over the Starbucks blend. And I hear their pumpkin lattes aren’t gluten-free (don’t hold me to that, but that’s what I hear). Assuming you check your vanilla, this has no gluten. Awesome if that’s a concern.

I used the leftover pumpkin from my scones recipe the other day–it was in a little plastic container in my fridge. If you need more motivation to make those tasty treats, there it is.

To make yourself a cup (two, but who’s counting?) of pumpkin spice coffee, you’ll need:

1 cup of milk (I used 1 percent, but whatever you have will be fine)

1 tablespoon canned pumpkin

1 scant tablespoon of sugar

1 scant tablespoon of vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

2 cups of strong coffee

In a small pan over medium heat, whisk together the milk, pumpkin, sugar, vanilla, and spice until well combined. Let it come to a simmer, stirring every few minutes so the spices dissolve.

Prepare your strong coffee however you normally do that. Pour it into a mug and add the pumpkin mixture. Mmmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

