Maple Sweet Potato Wedges

14 Oct

I roasted a chicken last night and first thought I’d make some maple mashed sweet potatoes to go with it. But I was feeling lazy and didn’t feel like dirtying both a pot and my mixer bowl. So this recipe was perfect–all the flavor in my favorite mashed potatoes with only one dirty dish.

I found this one at Eating Well’s website and couldn’t resist fiddling with it. They called for a few tablespoons of butter, and I used one of olive oil. I also used a lot less salt than they wanted, skipped the pepper entirely, and found this took longer to roast than they said (which could be because I didn’t use butter, which browns quickly).

Verdict: Delicious. I’ll definitely make this again. It was really easy to make these while the chicken rested post-roasting, and everyone loved them. The maple flavor is subtle but definitely there, and these weren’t overly sweet. And the maple mixture thickened as this cooked, turning into a wonderful glaze by the end of the cooking time.

Give ’em a shot. You’ll need:

Three or four medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into half-inch pieces

1/3 cup maple syrup (the real stuff, please)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp lemon juice

1/4 tsp salt

Heat your oven to 400 degrees. Coat a 9 x 13″ Pyrex baking dish with olive oil or cooking spray. Place the potato chunks into the dish.

Whisk together the other ingredients in a small bowl. Pour over the potatoes. Use a spatula to stir and coat the spuds with the maple mixture. Cover with foil.

Bake covered for 15 minutes. Uncover, stir, and bake another 45 minutes or so, stirring every 15 minutes.

2 Responses to “Maple Sweet Potato Wedges”

  1. mary m October 20, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    Oh these sound yummy! I love to dip my sweet potato fries in maple syrup as it is 🙂

  2. Rajveer June 8, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I suppose that dedneps on where you live. You could buy some better established plants and you could get a decent amount of tomatoes, peppers or cucumbers. I am growing all of these upside down in pots right now. Potatoes are a good bet. Do a search of potato and tire garden. It is where you plant in one tire. As it grows, you add another tire and dirt.

Leave a Reply

