Pumpkin Seeds

25 Oct

I know, I know. Everybody already knows how to roast pumpkin seeds. Simple, basic, blah blah blah.

I have a trick. And you’re going to have to trust me on it.

We were away with friends for the weekend a little while back and we stopped at a local farm to buy pumpkins. “For the kids,” of course. Mind you, the moment we got back to the house, the knives came out and we ripped into the biggest one to make a funny face, complete with snot hanging out its nose.

Grown-ups’ weekend away. I digress. *giggle*

Anyway, there was a group decision that we should roast the seeds. One of the men started scooping them out of our gourd, and I heard the sink start running. Which sent me into the kitchen at mach 3.

“DON’T RINSE THEM OFF!!” I yelled, snatching the bowl away.

Crazy lady in the kitchen, y’all.

But that’s the secret. Don’t rinse off the pumpkin goo. And before you start faux retching (I have children. I can tell fake from real heaves, you sissies), try it. Just once. I promise, you’ll never wash your seeds off again. Because that stringy goo roasts down into a crunchy coating that gives the seeds the flavor they were intended. They taste like pumpkin. Imagine that!

This is the big week for pumpkin carving. Carve away. But then, do this. Go get:

A rimmed, metal cookie sheet

Aluminum foil

Nonstick spray

Salt

The seeds of a pumpkin

Heat your oven to 350 degrees. Scoop the seeds out of Mr. Jack O’Lantern. Resist the urge to rinse. RESIST. Pull them apart so they’re almost all individual seeds, but leave the orange strings on them.

Toss the gooey seeds with salt to taste. Cover your baking sheet with foil and spray it liberally with cooking spray. Lay the seeds on it in a single layer (patience, grasshoppah). Pop them into the oven.

Gently turn the seeds about every 15 minutes or so using a flat spatula. Let them roast for about 45 minutes, until they start to pop. Just like popcorn. Try one to make sure they’re crunchy and amazing, let them cool, and have at it.

Num.

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Seeds”

  1. Heather October 25, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Yes! The secret is out – don’t rinse the seeds! I’ve been known to toss them with melted butter along with the salt (I know, so unhealthy) but will try it with the cooking spray this year instead.

  2. Laura Beutler October 29, 2010 at 1:24 am #

    Even if I never make the seeds, this post made me laugh…

  3. Mike Winterson November 4, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    I always give in to my urge to rinse the seeds. I might try leaving that goopy crud in there next year…maybe. Being a Marylander, born and bred, I DID give in to my urge to use copious amounts of Old Bay in the roasting process. Turned out great! (I thought)

  4. Gayle Haeffner October 28, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    I will be doing this tonight! Have pumpkin, will carve.

Leave a Reply

