Crockpot Irish Oatmeal

26 Oct

I was headed up to bed last night when my slow cooker called to me. Sitting there on the counter, it was all shiny and clean from Sunday’s taco night, and it wanted to make breakfast.

I’ve made steel-cut oats in the slow cooker before; it’s simple and easy. But they don’t tend to keep much of their signature crunch cooked this way. A reader wrote and asked me if I had a solution for that, and I thought about it a lot over a week or two. Last night was the experiment.

It worked pretty well. And it was really simple–just reduce the water from what’s called for on the oatmeal box or can. Makes sense, right? You reduce the water when converting a recipe from oven to slow cooker, so why not do it with a stovetop recipe as well?

This wasn’t as crunchy as making it on the stove, but it took less than five minutes as opposed to 20 or more, and was ready when I got up in the morning. I turned my cooker off, cracked the lid a bit, and let it sit for an hour or so before breakfast; I’m not a big first-thing breakfast eater. It was warm and lovely with a little brown sugar, a dash or two of pumpkin pie spice, some Crasins, some sliced almonds, and a little milk. It’s been three hours and I’m not the least bit hungry yet, so that’s another victory.

Season yours as you’d like. I’d cook it plain and then season and add ingredients when it’s finished. This makes a crust around the edges of the pot. Just stir that in when you wake up. It’ll soften and blend in as it sits. You can also make a big pot of this and store it in the fridge. It microwaves really well, especially if you stir in a little milk first.

It doesn’t get much healthier than this and my tummy is happy. You’ll need:

Cooking spray

1 cup of Irish or Steel-Cut oats (not quick-cooking)

3 1/2 cups of water

Whatever add-ins you like

Coat your slow cooker with cooking spray. Add the oats and water. Give it a quick stir, set it on low, and go to bed.

In the morning, turn the cooker off, stir in the crusty bits from the edges, crack the lid a bit, and go take your shower. Stir in your add-ins and enjoy when you’re ready (I used a teaspoon of brown sugar, a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice, about a teaspoon each of Craisins and sliced almonds, and a half-cup of milk on mine).

This should make four servings. It made two for us. DH is an oatmeal guy and enjoyed it a lot. I need to hide my portion next time. 😉

 

Like my blog? Please share it! Email the link to your friends, StumbleUpon it, or post it on Facebook or Twitter. The more the merrier, and I thank you very much! XOXO – Kim

2 Responses to “Crockpot Irish Oatmeal”

  1. krishna October 26, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    i eat instant oatmeal every day so i’ll give this a try. i like the idea of the pumpkin spice but since i don’t have any i’ll try cinnamon and maybe honey.

  2. amy October 26, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    I never knew the crusty bits would soften up – I used to take it off the top and throw it away since it was literally too hard to eat.

Leave a Reply

