Dinner On the Fly

1 Nov

I’m going out with a friend tonight, leaving DH and the offspring to fend for themselves on the dinner front.

Nah. Not really. I can’t do that.

But I didn’t make a big dinner for everyone. As I type, 15 minutes before I hit the road, the kids are eating grilled cheese sandwiches (whole grain bread and lowfat, high-calcium cheese with a swipe of a light butter spread) with orange slices and wheat pretzel sticks. Halloween candy is optional.

The husband will eat Cream of Wheat, which I made earlier and put in the fridge for him. Again, whole grains and loads of calcium.

I guess the point of this is that you don’t have to have McDinner just because it’s one of those nights, you know? Pull out the (non-super-sweet) cereal; if it’s good enough for breakfast, it’s good enough for dinner. Oatmeal is great. Even a peanut butter sandwich will pass for good-enough if you make it without a ton of jelly, or use the all-fruit spread kind.

No guilt, my friends. It doesn’t have to be filet mignon every night. Fast does not equal sub-standard.

I’m off. They’re happy. Life rolls on…

Leave a Reply

