Sweet Potato “Fries”

3 Nov

These were so good that I the family gobbled them all up before I had a chance to snap a picture for you. Uh…sorry.

Dinner? Dinner was supposed to be salmon with these on the side. But DH ran late from a trip to another state and I was on my own for supper, and…well…the fish never made it to the oven. A plate of these became my evening meal. And that’s not bad–they’re super healthy.

I’ve tried oven sweet potato fries before. They always tasted good, but they were more roasted wedges than fries. I couldn’t pick them up with my fingers–they drooped. But they were tasty with a fork.

Tonight, I decided to go with the “less is more” theory. No oil. No spices. No honey. No anything, really, besides a little cooking spray and some salt at the end. I flipped them once and left them alone otherwise. And know what?

I got fries.

Real ones. Eat-with-your-fingers fries! They were crunchy on the outside and deliciously fluffy on the inside and they were perfectly perfect for snacking. All the way through the dinner hour.

It’s not much of a recipe. But it’s going into my regular rotation. Starting with lunch tomorrow. You only need:

Sweet potatoes (I used two, which fed the kids as a side dish and me as a meal)

Cooking spray

Salt

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Cover a heavy baking sheet with foil and spray it with cooking spray (olive oil, preferably).

Wash and peel your sweet potatoes. Cut them in half width-wise, and then into fries, about 1/2 inch wide (they’ll be about three inches long if you’re using medium spuds). Lay them in a single layer on the foil, and lightly spray the tops of them with cooking spray (olive oil if you have it).

Bake them for about 20 minutes. Pull them out and flip a few over with a spatula. If they’ve started to get brown underneath, keep going–flip all of them (if they’re not browning, let them go a little while longer). Bake about another 20 minutes, until both sides are brown. Salt to taste, let them sit outside the oven for about 5 minutes, and enjoy.

One Response to “Sweet Potato “Fries””

  1. mary m November 6, 2010 at 3:16 am #

    I’ve been buying the bags of sweet potato fries, either Alexia brand or Ore-Ida if I can find them–just found a kroger brand earlier this week. These sound almost as easy!

Leave a Reply

