Organization

14 Nov

Hi y’all.

Sorry for the radio silence this week. Truth be told, it was one of those weeks that makes one’s head spin, and we stuck with tried & true recipes most of the time. So I don’t have much new to share with you on the food front.

I did want to show you, though, the cabinet that holds my cookie sheets, muffin tins, cake and brownie pans, and casserole dishes. Because I hate hate HATE stacked pans in the kitchen. They never stay neat and I can never find what I want. Two years ago, I did this:

Yes, you can go buy spendy racks that will hold your pans and sheets and such like this. I went to Office Depot and spent about $6 on file racks. As long as they’re flat and not the stair-step kind, they work just fine. I can see everything, I can grab what I need, and nothing crashes to the floor.

The bottom shelf is pretty simple. While stacked, it’s organized–the things I use once or twice a year are in the back, and those I use more regularly are in the front.

My house isn’t organized, but this cabinet is. And it makes life much easier. 🙂

 

ps–I know you see things that aren’t pots and pans. My chopper and knife sharpener are handy and happy in there, and that’s one of three fire extinguishers in my kitchen. If you don’t have at least one, close your computer right this second and go. Serious business–a  family we know lost their kitchen and almost their house from a stove fire three weeks ago. So off you go–stay safe!

 

One Response to “Organization”

  1. Laura Beutler November 15, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Well, it would make sense that you’re using file sorters for your pans, b/c I believe the idea to use my cooling rack under my computer came from you…everything is multi-functional! 🙂

Leave a Reply

