Almost Guilt Free Pumpkin Pudding Parfait

16 Nov

My daughter, who is not immune to the ten bazillion holiday commercials already running on TV, has been begging me to make a pumpkin pie. And while I’d love to comply, the problem with baking a pumpkin pie is that then I have a pumpkin pie in the house. And I am (sadly) powerless over such things.

This makes for a phenomenal substitute.

This combines a pumpkin pudding recipe that’s all over the Internet (search for Weight Watchers pumpkin pudding) with layers of whipped cream and crushed graham crackers. All the taste of pumpkin pie without all the sugar and fat. Which is good, yes?

You can use light Cool Whip for the middle layers. I personally prefer fresh whipped cream, but the light stuff works just fine. And you can buy graham cracker crumbs, or you can chuck a few grahams in the food processor or blender and pulverize them yourself.

To make the pudding, you need:

3 cups 1% or skim milk

2 packages instant fat-free, sugar-free vanilla pudding mix

1 15-oz can pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix–just plain pumpkin)

1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Whip together the milk and pudding mix until they’re combined. Add the pumpkin and spice and mix thoroughly. Cover and refrigerate for an hour or two, until it firms up.

To make the parfait, choose a glass and layer cracker crumbs, pumpkin pudding, and whipped cream, in as many layers as makes you happy. Either pop those in the fridge (the crumbs will soften up and it gets divine that way) or eat immediately (also delicious and a bit more crunchy).

Who needs pumpkin pie in the house, huh? 😉

 

4 Responses to “Almost Guilt Free Pumpkin Pudding Parfait”

  1. Babygirl November 16, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Never thought about using Pumpkin in my parfait.. I will definitely try this.

  2. mary m November 16, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    Sounds yummy!!!

    If I try it, I’ll have to use regular pudding, can’t stand the sugar free stuff

  3. mary November 17, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    This looks so good that I went to the store and bought all the ingredients….can’t wait to make it!!!

  4. geena November 20, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    This is delicious!! I almost have to force my husband to share with me LOL!

Leave a Reply

