Thanks

24 Nov

I’m not cooking Thanksgiving dinner. I’d be happy to, but my sister-in-law is kind enough to host, and even kinder to invite my family to her house so I don’t have to split the day.

I’m thankful for her.

I’m on pumpkin pie duty. The recipe on the Libby’s can is the best one I’ve tried. I don’t mess with it at all. I have that and a big bottle of wine, and a small birthday cake for my mother-in-law that I baked this morning, since we won’t see her on her actual big day.

I’m thankful for my family and their health.

I’m thankful for my Labrigator, who makes me crazy but also follows me around all day long and wags her tail just because I look at her, and forces me to exercise and shows me the joy in the everyday.

I’m thankful for my kitchen, which helps me work out things that need working out while I’m mixing and stirring and measuring. Cooking zen. It’s my meditation, my therapy, and my love.

I’m thankful for the wonderful teachers in my children’s lives. We’re truly blessed this year. And I’m grateful that we’ve been able to deal with those who haven’t been quite as spectacular and that my kids have an amazing ability to bounce when the ground seems harder than normal.

I’m thankful that my job lets me work at home, which gives me more time for everything above. It’s not easy and there are plenty of hurricane days because of it, but I can’t imagine doing all of this any other way.

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving and have more blessings than you can count. And I hope dinner is delicious and that you enjoy the process as much as the result. And lastly, I hope someone else does the dishes. See you next week.

 

Leave a Reply

