Improving the Perfect

29 Nov

Hope you all had a great Thanksgiving! Mine is…over. And we’ll leave it there.

I messed with the greatest chocolate chip cookie recipe of all time over the weekend. There’s this restaurant in DC–Teaism–that’s famous for its salted oatmeal cookies. I made those a few years back and they were really good, but not everybody is into oatmeal.

So this week, I took that chocolate chip cookie recipe, reduced the vanilla to a teaspoon, and sprinkled the dough oh-so-sparingly with kosher salt once it was scooped onto the cookie sheet, right before it went into the oven.

My friends, if you like sweet-salty, you will die. Heaven. These are heaven.

I’m going to try it with another cookie recipe later this week. Thinking of those spendy fleur-de-sel caramels in a cookie form. I’ll let you know what happens…

One Response to “Improving the Perfect”

  1. mary m December 7, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Darn it, I just signed up for weight watchers. I don’t need to make cookies!!!!

    But I am doing little goodie boxes for teachers and some coworkers, so maybe I’ll try these for that!

Leave a Reply

