Strategy

23 Dec

We’re hosting Christmas dinner this year for both sides of our family. And that’s wonderful. I love having a house full of people on a holiday and I have a lot of fun preparing for the main meal. But it does take a little thought and preparation to do it without being a slave to the stove while everyone else parties away in the next room–you want to be part of the festivities too, right?

Every year, I serve lasagna as the main course. Part is that it’s become our family tradition. But it’s mostly because I can prepare the lasagna on Christmas Eve, layering noodles and sauce and cheese, and pop it into the fridge until the next afternoon. An hour before we want to eat, the casserole dishes go into the oven, and I go back to the living room to enjoy everyone’s company while they cook.

On the side, we have a caramelized onion, green bean, and cherry tomato tian. It is out of this world good–a little sweet, a little savory, with just enough crunch to make things interesting. This, I put together Christmas morning after gifts are opened and breakfast is done, and then it goes into the oven for awhile with the lasagnas.

I ask other people to take care of the rest of the meal–one person is bringing garlic bread, one is in charge of salad, and someone else brings soda and wine. For dessert, I do a very easy and light chocolate cake that starts with a mix (but you’d never know) and doesn’t need any icing. It’s a family favorite and people ask for it throughout the year.

Christmas breakfast is equally simple. On Christmas Eve, I make cinnamon rolls that are divine–I’ll share that recipe with you soon, I promise. Christmas morning, I warm them and ice them quickly, scramble a few eggs in a large pan, and pour the coffee and juice.

Christmas Eve? Chinese take-out. Honestly. Take a break when you can get it.

Having dishes you can prepare ahead of time can really make a huge difference between having a great day yourself and feeling like everyone else’s indentured servant, no matter how much you enjoy playing with food.

I wish you a wonderful holiday. Thank you for being here for the first six (ish) months of my blog. I hope you’ve enjoyed it. And I hope you enjoy every moment of this weekend. Cheers, my friends.

 

3 Responses to “Strategy”

  1. Susan December 23, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    Thanks for the tips Kim. Have a wonderful holiday weekend…enjoy!

  2. Julie December 23, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    Kim – can’t wait to try your “Caramelized Onion, Green Bean, and Cherry Tomato Tian” as I usually make a very similiar dish in the summer. It has the green beans and cherry tomatoes, sugar and spices, but it is sauteed on the stove.
    I have definitely enjoyed your blog and all of our keeping in touch.
    Have a wonderful Christmas!

  3. Deborah December 24, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    Merry Christmas! Can’t wait to see you on the 2nd. I’ve loved lots of your recipes. And it’s fun to read your thoughts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

