So??

26 Dec

Did you get any new fun kitchen toys from Santa?

I scored the new Ina Garten cookbook at my bookclub gift exchange (lemon chicken is first on the list–YUM!) and a new mandoline from my brother and sister-in-law, which will get a ton of use. Yay!

How did you all do? Anyone make anything good? I’d love to hear!

 

7 Responses to “So??”

  1. Sheila December 26, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    I got a KitchenAid mixer! I’m so excited – I’m about to use it for the first time to make 2 loaves of french bread.

    • Allison December 26, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

      The only kitchen thing I really got this year was a really nice crock pot. BUT, I gave out 2 Williams Sonoma giftcards. And my Kitchen Ninja set from last Christmas has gotten a TON of use this past year! 🙂

  2. Kim December 26, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    Sheila, you are going to LOVE that thing!!

    Allison, I think you may be the only person anywhere who uses a slow cooker more than I do. Enjoy, my friend! 🙂

  3. Amy December 27, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    No kitchen equipment or books, but I made the Celebration double braid bread from “The Bread Baker’s Apprentice”. Used cranberries and pistachios instead of walnuts, so it would be red and green for the holiday.

  4. Ali December 28, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    I bought myself Ina’s cookbook and read it quietly on the couch dreaming of her amazing food.

    I made a delicious beef rib roast, mashed potatoes, apple smoked bacon roasted brussel sprouts, and butternut squash, spinach, onion, and dried cranberry dish. It was all recipes and food from Wegmans where I selected the items and the site created a shopping list and recipes for me. It even printed out a map of the store and where to find all the food. Love it. I baked up a flourless chocolate cake & homemade pecan pie for our GF family members with vanilla whipped cream.

    Today I cleaned out the refrigerator and tossed the cookies (hehe) and am ready to eat regularly today. Holiday eating is behind me.

  5. Emma December 30, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Didn’t get anything this year, but I cooked up a storm. Monkey Bread was the big hit. The flippin syrup crystalized when it cooled (didn’t cook the brown sugar long enough???) but it actually came apart this year the way it was supposed to. Green beans almondine was my contribution to Christmas dinner. Remember the in-laws that wouldn’t let me cook for turkey day? They were all SHOCKED at how yummy my green beans were. Take that. LOL

    • Emma December 30, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

      Oh and Christmas Eve I did my big turkey dinner for the 5 of us…with my kick-butt cornbread DRESSING. LOL

Leave a Reply

