Party Day and Game Day Strategy

14 Jan

In five hours, there will be six little girls in my kitchen.

I know. I’ve lost my mind.

My daughter has watched me go to bookclub since she was born. She loves to read, and when she asked me if she could have her own bookclub, I had to say yes. I mean, how awesome is that–a bookclub of seven-year-olds? Making reading fun, and it was her idea. Love it.

She picked her first book (the first in the “Ivy and Bean” series) and we scheduled an afterschool meeting for three weeks later, and that day is today. Our school has half-day Fridays, so we’ll have lunch, talk about the book (I have some questions written up to nudge things along), and do a little craft (Ivy and Bean make magic wands, so we’re going to use craft sticks, ribbons, and all sorts of sparkly stuff to make magic wand bookmarks).

I thought about making something for lunch, but we have a few pickier eaters in the bunch. So easy is the way to go. I have a bowl of pretzels, orange juice and milk and water, paper plates and plastic cups, and we’re ordering pizza. There’s yogurt in the fridge if any of them doesn’t like pizza–tho I doubt that’s going to happen–and for dessert, I took some very simple refrigerated sugar cookie dough, baked it up with pink sprinkles on top, and dipped the final cookies in chocolate across their bottoms. Voila.

Now tomorrow. Tomorrow is a playoff game that I intend to watch (GO RAVENS! Whoops. Out loud again. Sorry.) at 4:30, which interferes pretty darn solidly with dinnertime. I neither want to miss the game cooking nor miss the game eating out, as is our Saturday night tradition, and I need something ready to go that we’ll all eat. And that I, at least, can eat in front of the television without trashing the carpet below.

This morning, I’m making enchiladas (I’ll share the recipe next week if they’re worthy). I can cook the meat and assemble everything in a casserole dish today, cover it with plastic wrap, and just bake it off tomorrow. I’ll make some Spanish rice in the morning and nuke it up during a commercial break, and we’ll take advantage of grocery store chips and guacamole at halftime.

Much as I love playing in the kitchen, sometimes, it’s better to keep things simple. As I’m forever saying, take help where you can get it. Order pizza for little kids. Make dinner ahead of time if you don’t want to be left out of the party. Think ahead to make life easy when you need it to be.

Have a great weekend!

5 Responses to “Party Day and Game Day Strategy”

  1. Lisa Sarafidis January 14, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Love the 7 year old book club idea! And good for you for making the effort to make it happen, and prepare such cute activities and treats- I’ll have to remember that one.

  2. Ali January 14, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Love the bookclub! How wonderful. Reading is such a great thing – glad to see DD enjoying it at her age.

    • Kim January 14, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

      Thanks girls. We also made reading journals for the girls to track what they’re reading, and those were a HUGE hit. Fun afternoon!!

  3. Lara Starr January 14, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Fun! Please check out our Ivy & Bean Web Site – we’ve got some fun things I think your little book clubbers would like, including an Ivy & Bean Cootie Catcher and a Toss A Worm at Nancy Game

    -Lara Starr
    Marketing Manager
    Chronicle Books
    lara_starr@chroniclebooks.com
    http://www.chroniclebooks.com/ivyandbean/fanclub.html

  4. Amy January 16, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Kim, that’s SO awesome! I had piles of miniature plastic trophies for reading at that age (Miss B would give them out for every some-number-of-books you read, and I read all the time), but a book club would have been tons of fun. Obviously you must be doing stuff right… 🙂

Leave a Reply

