The Easiest Fish Tacos Ever (and I’m giving stuff away!!)

19 Jan

Confession: For years and years, I wrinkled up my nose at the thought of fish tacos.

I know. Ridiculous. But I’m from the east coast and we think of fish in totally different ways than you southwesterners, and the thought of fish + taco was just odd. Sort of testifies to my younger-self ignorance, doesn’t it?

I’ve since, in my old age, fallen for tacos with fish in them, and there’s not much argument against them. Done right, they don’t taste fishy. They’re light and healthier than their ground beef counterparts, and when I tell you I spent 10 minutes in my kitchen, start to finish, to make them, I tell the honest truth.

These work best with solid white fish. I used rockfish because I had a mess of it in my freezer from a fishing trip DH took last fall. It was very good. But cod would be good. Halibut would be good. Pollack would also do. If you’re feeling more adventurous, try shrimp or salmon. Buy it either frozen or fresh from a fishmonger you trust. You don’t want that fishy smell in your house or taste in your tacos.

There are a lot of recipes out there that call for all sorts of marinade for fish tacos. I’ve seen mayonnaise, sour cream, yogurt, tequila, vinegar…you name it. But I was going for light here, and so my fish got a simple spritz of lime juice and a shake of Mexican Seasoning, which you can buy by the jar from The Spice Hunter directly. No Mexican Seasoning around? Use fajita seasoning or a sprinkle of mixed chili powder, oregano, garlic powder, cumin, and maybe a chili flake or two. I wouldn’t use taco seasoning here–it’ll be too overpowering.

If you’re using an indoor grill pan or a regular saute pan, be sure you grease it well. Fish likes to stick! On an outside grill, I’d recommend a layer of foil beneath the fish so you don’t lose it between the grates, with an ample spray of nonstick cooking spray.

Toppings? Well, anything you’d use on tacos. We had salsa, cheese, and guacamole. But you could do chopped tomatoes, cabbage or lettuce, onions (raw or caramelized), jalapenos–the sky’s the limit. Put your taco shells or tortillas out on the counter with a plate of fish and a selection of toppings and let the family self-serve their dinner, making their tacos exactly the way they like them. Kids LOVE that, and it’s the best way to ensure everybody gets just what they like.

My daughter devoured two entire tacos tonight, which never happens with chicken. Then she asked if we could have fish tacos “a lot.” My son didn’t appreciate the fish with salsa, but picked it out of his taco shell and ate it naked. DH and I very much enjoyed these, and I have some fish left over, which will re-appear as lunch tomorrow on top of some Romaine lettuce with a little salsa, avocado, and chopped onion. Yum.

I had these with some Spanish rice–a Goya mix I found in the supermarket. Rice reheats wonderfully, so make it during the day or the night before and just nuke it when your fish is about cooked. Presto chango easyo dinnero. In minutes.

These are being added to our regular dinner rotation. To try it, you’ll need:

About a pound of firm fish filets or steaks (see suggestions above), fresh or frozen and thawed.

One fresh lime, halved, at room temperature (so it lets go of all its juice)

About a tablespoon of Mexican or Fajita Seasoning

Taco shells or tortillas (this is marked gluten-free, which it is depending on your choice of these)

Taco toppings of choice

Preheat your indoor grill pan over medium-high heat (use a regular skillet if you don’t have a grill, or cook these outside on your regular, manly-firey grill). Slice the fish across the narrow side into pieces about 1 inch thick. Squeeze a little lime juice on one side and sprinkle some seasoning on top.

When the grill is hot. spray it liberally with oil or cooking spray. Place the fish, juiced side down, on the grill–it should sizzle if it’s hot enough. Sprinkle the second side with juice and seasoning.

Let the fish cook about 2 minutes or until it appears cooked halfway through the slices. Gently turn over and cook the second side.

Carefully–really carefully–use tongs or a spatula to remove it from the grill. Serve with shells or tortillas and toppings, or as a salad. Enjoy!

NOW: The giveaway!

There’s a new button over there on the right (you’ll have to click through if you’re on email subscription, Kindle, or a blog reader–sorry!)? That’s for Playing With My Dinner’s brand-spanking new Facebook page, where our readers are already chatting, sharing ideas, and getting the inside scoop on the blog.

To celebrate its launch, I’m giving away a copy of Aviva Goldfarb’s newest cookbook, “SOS! The Six O’ Clock Scramble To The Rescue.” It’s all about making healthy, Earth-friendly meals your kids will love, and you’re going to love it.

One lucky reader will find a copy in his or her mailbox, and all you have to do to enter is “like” the blog over on Facebook before February 5. I’ll use a random number generator to pick our winner.

So c’mon over! Visit the page, hit that “like” button, and join in the conversation on the wall. See you there!!

2 Responses to “The Easiest Fish Tacos Ever (and I’m giving stuff away!!)”

  1. mary m January 19, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    How did I miss your facebook page? I am so there. Except no facebook at work. so I’ll be there when not at work 😉

  2. Emma January 19, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    I love fish tacos – west coast style is my favorite, with cabbage. Mmmmmmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

