Super-Fast Friday: Twins in the Kitchen

4 Feb

No, not children!! Twin pieces of equipment!

I know. Sounds expensive. But I’m not talking about twin ovens (tho I dream of that, yes I do) or entire mixers.

Today’s tip is this: There are certain things that it makes sense to buy two of, because you’ll save so much time and effort over time.

Take today. Today, I am baking a cake for our Cub Scout pack’s Blue & Gold Banquet. The cake is going to be a Pinewood Derby track with a few cars racing down the ramp. To do this, I need, among other things, two sheet cakes.

Thankfully, I have two bowls for my KitchenAid mixer, so I dump the ingredients into both, mix one, mix the other, and have two bowls of batter ready in five minutes. I also have two sheet pans. Pour, pour, bake them at the same time, and voila. Two sheet cakes in about 45 minutes (instead of the two hours it would take me to make one, wash everything, and make another), because I have twins in my baking cabinets.

Other things I recommend stocking up on are food processor bowls (2), 9 x 13″ casserole dishes (2 or 3, and then make two pans of ziti or two lasagnas or two whatevers and freeze one for another week), silicone spatulas or spoonulas (I have four and frequently use all of them in a day. I don’t recommend the ones with wood handles, tho, as they can’t go in the dishwasher), metal spatulas (2), beating blades for your KitchenAid or sets of beaters for your hand mixer (2), bread pans (3), cookie sheets (4), Pyrex measuring cups (I have two 2-cup measures and one one-cupper), sets of metal measuring cups (2), sets of measuring spoons (3), large Pyrex mixing bowls (2), cutting boards (I have one big wood one and three smaller plastic boards) and chef’s knives (2).

Sounds like a lot, but it’s really not much at all. And you won’t believe the time savings.

Did I forget anything? Tell me in the comments–what else do you need extras of?

2 Responses to “Super-Fast Friday: Twins in the Kitchen”

  1. mary m February 6, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    Kim-
    I need another bowl for my kitchen aid, as well as another food procesor bowl. But I have multiples of almsot everything else you mentioned. I’ve just gotten good at washing out the kitchen aid bowl between batches…it can be a pain, but it works ok 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Super-Fast Friday: Twins in the Kitchen « Playing With My Dinner -- Topsy.com - February 4, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kim Fernandez, Ali Hoffman. Ali Hoffman said: RT @kimthewriter: Investing in twins in the kitchen! Today's Super-Fast Friday tip, on teh blog http://t.co/KhXo8zN […]

Leave a Reply

