Tomato Sauce with Mushrooms

9 Feb

I had every intention of making chicken cacciatore in my slow cooker yesterday and then telling you all about it today. But the day got crazy fast and a head cold hit (I’m waiting for the Day Quill to kick in as I type) and the chicken was in the freezer, and before I knew it, lunchtime had passed and thawing and chopping and cooking to done was just too much to think about.

You know those days? It honestly might have been a pizza day except that I had a gorgeous package of sliced mushrooms in my fridge, and I knew they’d be icky if I didn’t cook them.

This all came together in the time it took to boil a pot of pasta. The kids did homework, I made noodles and sauce, and dinner was ready in what felt like no time, with zero real effort. DH deemed the sauce “awesome.” DS ate it without comment, which is a victory in my book. And DD doesn’t like tomato sauce **eye roll** so she had her pasta with butter. We’ll definitely have this again.

To make it, you’ll need:

2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 an onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced (I used three frozen Dorot garlic cubes)

8 oz mushrooms, sliced

1/3 cup red wine (cooking wine is fine if that’s what you have)

28 oz crushed tomatoes

2 tbsp sugar

2 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried oregano

pinch each of salt and pepper

16 oz box of pasta, your choice

Boil a large pot of water, cook your pasta to al dente, and drain it.

While that’s happening, heat the olive oil over medium heat in a medium saucepan. Saute the onion with the salt and pepper until the onion turns translucent and soft–about 3 minutes.

Stir in the garlic and onion and cook about 4 minutes, until the mushrooms have started to brown up a bit.

Stir in the red wine and cook about 3 minutes. Then stir in the tomatoes, sugar, and spices, bring to a boil, and simmer the whole mixture until the pasta is finished. Sprinkle with Parmesan if desired, and enjoy.

2 Responses to “Tomato Sauce with Mushrooms”

  1. Deborah February 10, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    We had spaghetti last night but your sauce would have been sooooo much better. I admit it, I usd a jar of sauce. We will try this! Thanks!

  2. Susan February 10, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I am definitely going to try this with the mushrooms I currently have in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

