Garlic Roasted Baby Potatoes

10 Feb

Everybody has a recipe for these delicious morsels of goodness. So this is more about a trick than an actual recipe.

I used Ina Garten’s recipe for garlic-roasted potatoes for years, and it was good. Well, it was mostly good. The problem with that recipe was that I always ended up with perfect potatoes and burned bits of garlic (I’m sure it was operator error–no way that recipe has spread so far and wide by burning garlic). Burned garlic is bitter and nasty, and not something we garlic lovers appreciate.

I am a garlic addict. Love the stuff. I make my turkey sandwiches with garlic hummus instead of mayo or mustard. I toss whole cloves into chickens. It goes into my chili, my pasta, and onto bread if I’ve though ahead enough to roast some on its own with a little olive oil. Garlic rocks my world. And that’s why I had to find a new way to make these potatoes–I wanted real garlic, not bitter bits of crunchy brownness.

The first change you’ll notice is in the potatoes. I use baby yukon golds. They’re firm and waxy and buttery on their own, so you don’t need as much oil to roast them, and they offer fantastic mouth feel.

The second is the method. I infuse the oil with the garlic before combining it with the spuds (that’s way easier than it sounds–don’t get scared), which gives me a little hint of yummy with every bite. And using garlic that’s practically pureed means no burned bits when the pan comes out of the oven.

This is among my favorite side dishes, and it’s been known to serve as a main dish when I’m eating by my lonesome for whatever reason. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

You’ll need:

1 pound baby yukon gold potatoes, unpeeled

3 cloves of garlic, chopped and mashed with a knife (or just use three frozen Dorot cubes as they are)

2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

salt or No-Salt seasoning

Heat your oven to 400 degrees. Cover a baking sheet with foil and spray it with nonstick spray or olive oil.

Half or quarter the potatoes to get uniform bite-sized pieces.

Combine the oil and garlic in a large Pyrex bowl. Cover it with wax paper and microwave it on high for about 15 – 20 seconds. Let it sit for a minute, and then take it out and stir it. This imparts all the garlic flavor into the oil itself, and that is a very good thing.

Place the potato pieces into the garlic and oil mixture. Toss gently. Lay on the baking sheet in a single layer, with cut sides down on the foil (that’ll give you a great crunch later). Sprinkle with salt. Roast 40 minutes, turning the potatoes over halfway through.

(For a little extra freshness, sprinkle the roasted spuds with a little dill at the end. YUM!)

2 Responses to “Garlic Roasted Baby Potatoes”

  1. Amy February 10, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Wow, that does sound good. In the past I’ve used garlic powder as a way to avoid the nasty burned garlic, but this sounds way better…

  2. Aviva Goldfarb February 10, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Kim these sound so good–I’m going to try your method next time I roast potatoes.

Leave a Reply

