Almost-Healthy Banana Waffles

21 Feb

We had a serious case of The Sicks last week, starting with a cold, morphing into an ear infection, and ending with vomiting and a low-grade fever.

Fun times.

And then yesterday, I went to power up my computer to get a head start on work for the week…and nothing happened. Black screen. Dead logic board, said my heroes at the Apple Store. Three to five days to fix.

Awesome.

I’m writing this on my kids’ laptop, which is many years old but still happy to serve me in weeks like this. They are not amused, but such is life. A comfort breakfast was called for.

I had two soft and brown bananas calling to be used up, and we weren’t in a bread or muffin kind of mood. Waffles, though sounded tasty. And these were–crisp on the outside and fluffy and light on the inside with just a hint of banana throughout. A hit on all fronts.

This started as a recipe that’s all over the Internet. As written there, it had too much oil for my taste, and a lot of white flour. I bumped up the banana, halved the oil, and used half wheat flour instead of all all-purpose. And they were really good. We have a big stack of them here, and many leftovers to hit the freezer for breakfast during the week. I’d show you a picture, but my camera and this computer aren’t playing nicely. They are tall and golden brown and yummy–trust me.

These are super quick to put together, and a whole lot better for you than the waffles in the grocery store freezer. Give them a shot. You’ll need:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup wheat flour (I use white-wheat but whole wheat should work too)

2 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 2/3 cups milk

1 1/2 large, very ripe bananas, mashed with a fork

3 tbsp vegetable or canola oil

2 eggs

Heat your waffle iron.

In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Pour in the wet stuff, whisk everything together, and let it sit for 5 minutes (this lets the baking powder start to do its thing). Stir it once more, pour it on the waffle iron, and follow its directions to cook.

Enjoy.

One Response to “Almost-Healthy Banana Waffles”

  1. mary m February 22, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Those sound yummy!! I haven’t made waffles in forever! Might need to find the waffle iron…

Leave a Reply

