Giveaway!!

3 Mar

Are you ready to win something fabulous??

Cookbook author and renowned food writer Monica Bhide has graciously offered our readers a signed copy of her beautiful cookbook, Modern Spice! Modern Spice has won acclaim from all sorts of foodie publications from all over the world, and is a delight to page through and even more fun to cook from. You’ll learn all about the fragrant spices we all use or wonder about, with recipes that are sure to delight your entire family.

I’m super excited to give this one away, gang. It is a GORGEOUS book–one you’ll want to leave out all the time.

To win it, leave a comment on this post, telling us what your favorite spice is and why, and (bonus points!) which spice you’re curious about or would like to know how to use.

Share this post to get extra entries–post it on Facebook or Twitter, and them come back here and leave another comment with a link to your post.

I’ll announce a winner on March 14, so HURRY!!!

Cheers-

Kim

 

14 Responses to “Giveaway!!”

  1. Emma Hershey March 3, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    That book looks AWESOME! OK – my favorite spice is cilantro because it has a flavor that really brightens up any dish. I love it on any Indian and Mexican food, but especially in salads. I tried to grow it in a window pot, but kept eating it before it grew big. LOL My recent fascination are fennel seeds. My SIL introduced me to them in her Indian cooking, and in candied form. OMG so good! Makes my mouth water. I’d love to learn how to use fennel well.

  2. Lara @ Good Cook Doris March 3, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    So hard to choose 1! I love black pepper. And I also love cilantro – so bright and fresh. Thanks for a lovely giveaway!

  3. brian adornetto March 3, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    The spice I am most curious about is garam masala. I have never used it or tasted it in a dish.
    Currently, my favorite spice is smoked paprika. It adds such depth everything. I use it in rubs, marinades, chili, aioli, and soups.

  4. Melissa March 3, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    I wish you could see my pantry, I have an entire wall devoted to spices. I am half Turkish, and we use a lot of different spices in our cooking. I do have a few go-tos, but I’m always looking for new ones or new blends. Penzey’s Spices is like my Nirvana – when I walk in there, I’m in a trance. πŸ™‚

    I have two favorites lately: Sumac is one. It’s got such a beautifully tart taste to it and complements so many different dishes. I love using it on lamb or beef, but it also punches up chicken and fish. My absolute favorite way to use it, however, is in my Lebanese salad. The lemony taste is a perfect complement to the lemon and olive oil dressing.

    I’m also obsessed with Porcetta salt lately, my sister gave me a canister of it from one of her fave places to eat in NYC. It’s a mix of sea salt, fennel, sage, rosemary, garlic, and wild fennel pollen. It is UNREAL. Perfect for pork, but many other things as well. It’s the wild fennel pollen, it makes everything taste like heaven.

    I’ve been trying to play around with curry powder lately. It seems like there is a lot I can do with it and so I’ve been trying to use it in unusual places. I’d love to use it more…

    Man, now I’m hungry.

  5. Amy March 3, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    My favorite spice… wow that’s a tough one! Perhaps cardamom – so enigmatic in a dish and the smell is divine. Once I had some asofoetida… supposedly it good for certain Indian recipes? In any case, the smell was so off-putting I never did figure out how to use it. I also grew pineapple sage a few times… smelled great, but I never figured out what to do with it besides put it in iced tea!

  6. Sarah March 3, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    I think because I don’t have a favorite spice that I should win the cookbook so I can become educated on the world of spices. πŸ™‚

  7. Arlene March 3, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Favorite spices thyme and bay leaf. They are so versatile. What I would like to know more about, Zatar. I guess I should have said my favorite is allspice and then it would have been from A to Z.

  8. Kate March 4, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    My favorite spice is the entire line of perfect pinch spices by McCormick, but especially the Original chicken. I would like to use curry, and know more about it. Other spices I like are tequila and margarita mix, they go with any dish!

  9. Mary m March 4, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I’ve taken a new interest in cumin, but honestly I don’t use enough spices!! I have a cupboard full, but always fall back to the same basics.

    Some I’m almost scared to use. Just need to jump in and try, I think πŸ™‚

  10. Ali March 4, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Pretty and yummy!!

    My favorite spice is rosemary. Delicious, flavorful, and fresh not dried. Partners well with lemon for chicken. =)

    I would love to learn more about curry!

  11. Susan March 7, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    I know it’s boring, but I’m going with fresh ground pepper.

  12. Holly March 8, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Garlic, garlic, garlic? Oh and I like cumin as well. I am a bit stuck in a kitchen rut cause I have been so busy. I will be going through the blog today for some inspiration to mix it up around here!

  13. Kathleen March 8, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    My favorite spice is cinnamon just because it smells so darn good and evokes so many memories of being in the kitchen with my Mom. I also enjoy cumin. It’s a great offset to chili powder. The one spice (actually mix of spices) I am always curious about is curry. There are so many varieties from sweet to mouth-is-on-fire.

  14. Laura Beutler March 9, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Okay, I’ll admit it. I’m afraid of spices. I have a whole expensive cabinet full, and put them in when a recipe requires it, but I’ll rarely just throw one in on whim. Except for maybe crushed red pepper because there are a lot of dishes that taste better with a little zing. And I like zing.

    So, if you can tell me the time to use turmeric, and the causes for cardamom, well, then you’d be just awesome. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

