Super Fast Friday: Toss A Chicken In A Pot

4 Mar

Happy Friday!

A very warm welcome to everybody who’s clicked over from the Babble Food Mom Blog list, and a big hug and chocolate chip cookie to everybody who’s voted for Playing With My Dinner so far over there! Y’all have made my day!

Today’s Super Fast Friday tip involves a little thinking ahead, but if you’re already menu planning or you have a list of six or seven standby dishes you know your family loves, it’s simple. And it uses a slow cooker. You guys know how much I love that!

We all have recipes that call for shredded or cut-up chicken. Day Before Chicken Enchiladas, Chicken Corn Chowder, or even simple chicken barbecue sandwiches are some of the ones my family turns too all the time that require cooked chicken to start.

Every so often, I take a whole chicken, put some lemon, garlic, and onion inside the cavity, salt and pepper the outside, and toss it into my slow cooker. Then, I forget about it.

Eight to 10 hours later, I have a perfectly poached chicken. It lets off wonderful juices while it’s cooking in there, and the meat is fall-off-the-bone tender and juicy and delicious.

Some people eat that bird just like that, and you rock on if you’re one of them. But it’s a great method of ensuring you have cooked chicken around for those other recipes we all love. Carefully lift the bird out of the pot. drain it well, let it cool a bit, and then shred it up–the whole thing–with two forks. Parcel the meat out into freezer bags, label them, and put them in your ice box.

Next time you want a chicken-based casserole or soup, voila. You’ve got the perfect cooked poultry already waiting to be doused in sauce or stirred into a dish.

This is a great money saver too–buy two chickens when they’re on sale, roast one this way or this way, and plop the other in the Crockpot for shredding and freezing.

That’s today’s Super Fast Friday tip. Have a great weekend!!

Don’t forget–win a signed copy of Monica Bhide’s fantabulous cookbook, “Modern Spice!” Click on over and comment to enter yourself to win!

2 Responses to “Super Fast Friday: Toss A Chicken In A Pot”

  1. Amy March 4, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    What kind of chicken do you get for this? Do they come without the skin? I’ve only ever bought boneless, skinless breast – I HATE touching the raw chicken. But I do like easy when it comes to meat… Can I put the lemon etc in the pot, vs having to reach inside?

    Yeah, I’m squeamish. Go ahead and laugh at me; I can take it!

    • Kim March 4, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

      I got a small roasting chicken, Amy. You can skip the stuff inside. I’d lay some onion and garlic on the bottom of the pot and put the chicken on top if it, though. Just for flavor. 🙂

Leave a Reply

