Crockpot Chicken Enchilada Casserole

9 Mar

Y’all are going to read this recipe and shake your heads and laugh at me. It’s seriously that easy. But when you’re finished giggling, you should head into your kitchens and make this, because the whole family is going to eat it without complaint.

I was all set to make a slow cooker enchilada recipe from a slow cooker cookbook that I’ve had for awhile but have never cooked from (which I guess tells you something right there). Sadly, I had neither the two hours it needed to make sauce and dice up a ton of stuff and dip and roll, nor the many, many ingredients it called for. I’m also a firm believer that enchiladas should be simple–meat, cheese, sauce, tortillas. That recipe had olives and all sorts of other things in it. Those are great, but set them out as toppings people can choose from. Basic is better when you’re feeding families.

I tossed this together, said a little prayer to the Crockpot gods, and wandered off for about six hours. I then thanked those gods at dinnertime, because this was really good!

You’ll see that I use the microwave to sweat some onion and garlic before mixing it in. That was pure laziness–my pans don’t go in the dishwasher and a bowl can, so I gave it a shot. It worked very well, and I used the same bowl to mix everything together, which made cleanup even easier.

I poached some chicken for this. If you have cooked chicken around or in your freezer, by all means, use it in this recipe. It’ll work great.

One final warning and then we’re off to cook: Don’t let your tortillas wrap up the side of your slow cooker. Keep them flat. Mine went up the sides and those bits burned and were icky. The rest was delicious, so it’s a simple matter of being more careful than I was to keep this yummy.

So. Off you go. You’ll need:

1 pound of chicken, raw or cooked and shredded with forks

1/2 an onion, finely diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 tsp olive oil

1 12-oz jar of enchilada sauce (or make yours–I like Alton Brown’s recipe)

About a cup and a half of Mexican-blend shredded cheese (use plain cheddar if you have that)

A small package of tortillas. I used flour but you can use corn if you prefer those or you want this to be gluten-free

 

In a medium-sized saucepan, bring a few cups of water to boil. Add raw chicken and poach it until it’s cooked through–about 10 minutes. Drain and shred with forks. (Skip this if you’re using cooked chicken).

In a large microwave-safe bowl, toss together the onion, garlic, and oil. Cover and microwave on high for one minute. Let cool.

Add shredded chicken and 1 cup of the enchilada sauce to the bowl and stir to combine everything.

Spray your Crockpot insert with cooking spray. Lay a single layer of tortillas in the bottom, tearing as necessary and keeping them flat on the bottom. Top that with 1/3 of the meat mixture, and top that with about 1/3 cup of cheese. Repeat those steps two more times (I used a double layer of tortillas in the middle, and a single layer on the top and bottom–it gave this dish a bit more heft). Finish with a single layer of tortillas. Top that with the remaining sauce and the last of the cheese.

Cook on low about 6 hours. Turn off and remove the lid about 10 minutes before serving, to let it set up. Serve with your choice of toppings on the side–raw onions, sour cream, guacamole, olives, etc.  Enjoy!

 

Don’t forget you can win an autographed copy of Modern Spice! Go here and leave a comment to enter. And my little blog is still in the running over at Babble’s list of 100 best food mom blogs! You can vote for it here–and thank you!!

5 Responses to “Crockpot Chicken Enchilada Casserole”

  1. Natalie @ Will Jog For Food March 9, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    I am definitely making this! Looks so good & easy too 🙂

  2. Stephanie March 9, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Do you think you could use ground beef instead of chicken (my kiddos favor beef in mexican food)? This sounds so easy and delcious!

    • Kim March 9, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

      Absolutely!! Chicken, beef, or pork will work. If you’re using beef, I’d toss the onions and garlic in there when you brown it up and save a step. 🙂

  3. Tracey March 9, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    This sounds divine! Can’t wait to try it =)

  4. Alison C. March 15, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    I made this yesterday. It tasted great, but I learned that it probably shouldn’t stay in the crockpot more than 6 hours. I had to scrape off the top layer of tortilla, sauce and cheese because it was burnt. I would make it again, but I would just make sure that it’s a weekend when I’m home and can put it in the crockpot later in the day.

Leave a Reply

