Super-Fast Friday: Open the Box

11 Mar

Super simple super fast tip today, gang. So simple that most of you have probably thought of it. But it took me awhile to catch on (I’m quick like that), so I’m saying it anyway.

See that up there? That open dishwasher?

Cook with yours that way.

I know. The kitchen is small. You’ll trip over it. The kids stick their heads in. I hear you. My response is: Adjust, and your life will become simpler.

Cooking with your dishwasher door open makes clean-up after dinner about a quarter of the hassle it is when you cook with it shut. Finish with a whisk? Throw it in there. It doesn’t even touch the counter. Out of the hand, into the silverware basket.

Done with the cutting board? Don’t toss it in the sink. Put it right in the magical cleaning box.

Ditto for bowls and plates and measuring cups and spatulas, and everything else you’re using (almost–don’t you dare put your knives or pots in the dishwasher! I’ll know!). Fill your sink with hot soapy water, and plop the non-dishwasher stuff in there. When you’ve finished cooking and eating, it’s simple to add serving plates to the dishwasher and turn it on, and give the stuff in the soapy sink a quick swipe and dry.

Do me a favor and just give this a try. Cook with the dishwasher open. And then come tell me how much time it saved. 🙂

Happy weekend!

Don’t forget you can win an autographed copy of Modern Spice! Go here and leave a comment to enter. And my little blog is still in the running over at Babble’s list of 100 best food mom blogs! You can vote for it here–and thank you!!

2 Responses to “Super-Fast Friday: Open the Box”

  1. Kate March 11, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    I am doing it tonight!

  2. Michele March 11, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    When my mother taught me to cook – many years ago, she would say over and over again: “Clean as you go” — makes cooking so much more enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

