Shrimp and Broccoli Lo Mein

21 Mar

I started Friday thinking we’d have Shrimp Pad Thai for dinner. As the day went on, thought, I realized something. I just wasn’t in the mood.

It happens, right? You meal plan and shop and prepare, and then at the end of the day, you’d just about rather eat anything other than what’s on the menu.

The beautiful thing about being a grown-up, of course, is that you then get to decide whether to stick with the plan or move along to something else. I won’t tell you about the night DH and I had ice cream for dinner simply because the wait was too long at our favorite restaurant and  we just could (*ahem*), but there are perks to being taxpaying, crazed adults.

I didn’t want to waste the shrimp I’d defrosted, and I didn’t want to let my green onions to go waste. A quick search found a lo mein recipe that worked, except that it had a bunch of stuff in it that I either didn’t have (red peppers, fresh ginger, and a bunch of other stuff) or people here wouldn’t eat (carrots). So I improvised with what was in the pantry and my freezer. Which is another huge perk to being an adult. It’s playing with your dinner, yes? Playing is fun!

This turned out well. I loved it. DH would have liked it more had the sauce been a bit more subtle, but he’s a subtle sauce kind of guy. The kids had some without comment, which is a victory in my book, and it was even better the second day. That said, I recommend it for a quick meatless meal. I did eat this so fast that I totally forgot to take a photo–mea culpa.

To make it, you’ll need:

8 ounces uncooked spaghetti

1/4 cup dark sesame oil

1/2 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup chopped green onions

8 oz shrimp, peeled, tails removed

16 oz broccoli florets (I used frozen)

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1 cup chicken broth

1/4 cup hoisin sauce

2 tablespoons honey

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1/4 teaspoon grated ginger powder

In a large pot of salted water, boil spaghetti noodles until they’re on the tough side of al dente. Drain.

In a wok or large skittle, cook the onion, garlic, and green onions in the sesame oil over medium-high heat until you start to smell it–two or three minutes. Add shrimp and broccoli (I tossed mine in still frozen) and cook until the shrimp are about done and the veggies are softening a little.

Stir together cornstarch and the broth in a small bowl. Add that mixture to the wok and stir gently until it starts to thicken up, about a minute or two. Stir in the remaining sauce ingredients. Once everything’s combined, pour your spaghetti in and stir it all around over the heat, letting the noodles finish cooking in the sauce. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

