Super-Fast Friday: The Perpetual List

1 Apr

That up there is my life saver.

It’s a simple thing–a notebook with a magnet on the back, that I picked up at the craft store for less than $1. It hangs on my refrigerator all the time. And it’s my perpetual grocery list. Anytime I run out of an ingredient or run low on something, or run across a recipe I’d like to try, I jot down the thing I need on that notepad. I do the same on Sundays, when I plan our meals for the week–everything I need goes on the list.

On grocery store or Target or warehouse club days, I just rip off the top sheet, gather my coupons, and head out. I don’t spend a half-hour figuring out what I need, or risk forgetting that I ran out of olive oil or flour last Tuesday. It’s all right there, ready to go.

That’s a huge time-saver. It’s a great system for our family, especially now that the kids are old enough to jot down that they ate the last yogurt or piece of sting cheese. DH uses it too, letting me know when we’re about to run out of the things he tracks around our house. I know what’s low and we don’t forget much (“anything” is probably a bit optimistic, but I really rarely forget to get something this way).

Not bad for less than $1.

Have a great weekend!

One Response to “Super-Fast Friday: The Perpetual List”

  1. Aviva Goldfarb April 1, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Yes, my grocery list is my secret weapon for sanity, too!

Leave a Reply

