Recipe Redux: Fettucini with Lemon (and Asparagus)

19 May

Sorry for the radio silence, gang. My new gig is gearing up for its annual meeting, and I am living and breathing all things association right now. My house is a wreck (really–very sad). My children are neglected. I haven’t made a real meal in almost two weeks, which is horrifying on a number of levels. Things should get back to normal late next week–please don’t abandon me! šŸ™‚

Last night, I made dinner for a neighbor who’d just had a baby, and I doubled it to give my ignored husband and children a decent meal too. I shared with you a recipe for pasta with lemon sometime last year (I’d link it, but I’m flying through) from Giada De Laurentiis, and while it was good, this is better. It’s her recipe, just ramped up a bit.

DH, who was decidedly lukewarm on the original version, said “This is EXCELLENT” last night. Now, that could be due to his living on Cinnamon Toast Crunch for the last 14 days (told you–very sad), but I’m going to choose to believe that it really was that good. Still super simple.

Here’s what I did:

1 pound fettucini, cooked to al dente

3 lemons at room temperature

1/2 cup olive oil (this is down from 2/3 in the original, and I think you could use even less)

About 1/8 cup very finely diced onion (I diced up two nice slices of one onion)

1 clove garlic

1 bunch fresh asparagus, cut into 1-inch pieces

1/4 cup diced fresh basil leaves

1/3 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Cook your pasta. Add the asparagus to that pot (with the noodles) for the last minute or two of cooking time, and drain. That’ll get you crisp-tender, which is YUMMY!

Get a saute pan nice and hot and add your olive oil. Stir in your onion and let it cook over medium until it starts to get soft and sweet (not brown). While that’s happening, zest one of your lemons and then juice all of them into a cup or bowl.

Either finely dice up your garlic clove or grate it with a Microplane (that’s what I did) into the oil/garlic mixture. Stir it together and then stir in the lemon juice and zest. Remove this mixture from the heat.

Stir together pasta, asparagus, sauce mixture, diced basil, and cheese. Enjoy!!

One Response to “Recipe Redux: Fettucini with Lemon (and Asparagus)”

  1. carrie May 19, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    This looks great. I make something very similar to this, adapted from Nigella Lawson’s Forever Summer. It calls for short stubby pasta and parsley, and it’s delicious, too.

Leave a Reply

