Chocolaty Pina Colada Bread

13 Jun

I didn’t like this much when I made it.

Singing endorsement of a recipe, eh? But my first reaction was one of weirdness. Banana bread with crunch. I shrugged, wrapped it up in plastic, and forgot about it until the next morning, when my daughter asked for a slice and started mmmmmmming in volumes that were completely inappropriate for that time of day.

I tried it again. It got better! The coconut flavor developed overnight, and this was pretty darned good!

It was also ridiculously simple–I chucked a handful of sweetened shredded coconut into my regular banana bread recipe, along with a half-cup of mini-chocolate chips. Once it rested for a day, it was very good, and different than banana bread altogether–in fact, the same kid asked me this morning, “Is there a little banana in this?”

I recommend this, but I also warn you to not expect much if you can’t resist it right out of the oven. You’ll like it more the next day. Trust me. You need:

1/3 cup shortening (do not use butter–it mucks up the texture)

1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking powder

2 overripe bananas

1/2 cup sweetened shredded coconut

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Heat your oven to 350 degrees and spray a loaf pan with nonstick spray or butter.

Cream together sugar and shortening in your mixer. Add eggs and beat well. Stir in a cup of the flour, the baking powder and soda, and salt. Then stir in a banana. Add the rest of the flour, stir to combine, and then the other banana. Then, with your mixer on very low, stir in the coconut and chips (keeping the mixer on low will stop the gluten from developing and keep your bread nice and soft).

Spread into the greased loaf pan and bake about 1 hour, until done. Cool on a wire rack, wrap it up tight in plastic, and try it the next day.

Leave a Reply

