Not Your Grandmother’s Banana Blueberry Bread

20 Jun

It was not a weekend for the record books. That’s a nice way of saying it, I think. It started with a farewell party for someone I very much like who’s moving far away (fun party, but made me super sad), then went to another event where my feelings got smashed, mid-pointed with the death of a good friend of DH’s, and snuck out of town with a visit to urgent care, which never ends well. I had a good cry, hibernated with my Kindle for several hours, visited with my friends Ben and Jerry, got a decent night’s sleep, and this morning, decided that the blueberries in my refrigerator were not going to cook themselves, and mucked around with a recipe.

We all have banana blueberry bread recipes in our collections–it’s a staple, both because it’s good and because it uses up fruit that threatens ickiness in a way that everybody will eat. I’ve had this one for awhile, but finally got around to messing with it this morning. And it, my sweets, it good.

I can’t remember where the original recipe came from, but I swapped out brown sugar for half the white, added some vanilla extract, and used more blueberries than it called for. The result is a very quick and simple sweet bread that could easily pass as a coffee cake, perfect for breakfast, tea, or dessert. The brown sugar caramelizes around the crust (it’s begging to be a muffin, I think) and gives a yummy hint of that flavor throughout. It made me happy, and we could all use a shot of happy from time to time. I hope you’ll try it.

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/3 cup butter, softened (not melted)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/3 cup light brown sugar

1/3 cup white sugar

2 eggs

1 ripe banana, smooshed

1/2 pint blueberries

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and spray a loaf pan with nonstick spray (I swear by Baker’s Joy if you can find it).

With an electric mixer, cream together butter and sugars until they’re light and fluffy. Add vanilla. Beat in eggs, one at a time.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. With your mixer on low, stir in half of that mixture. Then stir in your mooshy banana, then the rest of the dry goods, and finally and very gently stir in your blueberries.

Taste the batter. Right??

Spread the batter into your loaf pan and bake about 50 minutes.

One Response to “Not Your Grandmother’s Banana Blueberry Bread”

  1. gizziechick June 20, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    A trip to urgent care? Everyone ok?

    I do love a good banana bread. Never thought to add blueberries, though I’ve used coconut before.

Leave a Reply

