The $5 Miracle Toy

29 Jun

The plan, my loves, was to share with you a recipe for linguine with garlic bread crumbs that we tried Monday night.

The problem is that we didn’t like it. At all. Hugely disappointing. Dry and relatively tasteless; DH described it as “noodles with sawdust.” There were leftovers, and I tried stirring some summer-ripe grape tomatoes in, but even that couldn’t save this dish. Thumbs down, and I don’t recommend it.

So instead, we’re going to talk about one of my favorite toys today, and it’s something I picked up at Target on a total whim, for less than $5. It’s my handy-dandy batter bowl.

My mom had one of these when I was a kid, only hers was Jadeite and lovely (of course, I was younger and stupid when she sold her house years back and didn’t want it, and now that I have an appreciation for such beautiful things, have no idea where it wound up. Lesson learned). I came to my senses about such things a year or so ago, but by then had kids and budgets and a very tightwad way of living, and picked up a cheap, clear plastic model for myself. It has served me well and is one of the most useful gadgets in my kitchen.

I bought my batter bowl for pancakes, but it is an absolute miracle for cupcakes. I’ve used it for waffles, funnel cakes, and all sorts of sauces. Anything you’d pour, this is your tool. It’s simple and easy and pretty mess-free, and gets tossed right in the dishwasher. One bowl for mixing and pouring. I like that.

Such is my wisdom for today. If you don’t have one of these, get thee to the store and pick one up–you’ll love it. And if your mom has a gorgeous old one, don’t let it go.

Shameless Plug: Have you become a fan of Playing With My Dinner on Facebook? We have a fun wall where we chat about lots of kitchen-esque topics, and I’d love to see you there. Click here and then click “like,” and tell your friends! Thanks!

2 Responses to “The $5 Miracle Toy”

  1. Laura June 29, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    I’m with you on the batter bowl- I bought a glass Pampered Chef one (though I bet Target has a cheaper version too) – with the glass you can mix and bake in it too – which is great when you’re making a Barbie cake (the bowl part becomes the dress and you stick the barbie in top). I’ve done monkey bread in them, and also good for when you’re hosting a Breast Cancer Pink Party and you use two of them to make a cake of, well, you know…

  2. Eileen June 30, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    I’ve never seen one of these–they look super handy! I’ll get one next time I’m at Target. Really need to browse more.

Leave a Reply

