Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

16 Aug

That up there is my breakfast. And it’s all Julie’s fault.

Besides being one of my favorite mom bloggers, Julie is a Twitter buddy of mine. About two weeks ago, she Tweeted me that she was enjoying a big slice of chocolate chip cake. And I have been slightly obsessed ever since (which is a sad commentary on my mental state, but I digress).

I found a recipe for a brown sugar chocolate chip cookie cake that sounded delicious. It baked up in a loaf pan, which was a huge bonus (I really really really do not need an entire bundt cake laying around), and was very similar to a chocolate chip cookie recipe. A cake that tastes like cookies? Sign me up.

But. (There’s always a but with me and recipes. Another slightly disturbing personal issue.) That recipe wanted pastry flour, and I am just not buying special flours I’ll never use again. I also wanted cake NOW, so a store run was out of the question.

It also wanted a lot of dark brown sugar and no white sugar at all, which meant it would burn really easily and turn bitter, and sounded really dense. It had a ton of butter in it, and it baked for a really long time at a really low temperature, which also contributed to that recipe’s photo looking a little blackened on the outside. If I’m baking a cake, I’m eating every bite, y’all. I’m not into chucking the crust.

I messed around with it and came up with this recipe. Which is delicious. It really tastes just like a chocolate chip cookie, but it’s cake. Talk about your matches made in heaven. And it’s super simple! I made it for dessert last night, but am finding it makes a darned tasty, if not entirely virtuous, breakfast. You need:

2 cups all-purpose white flour

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened (the original recipe had even more–ack!)

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray a loaf pan (I strongly recommend Pyrex or clay/ceramic for this, so the crust doesn’t burn on you) with nonstick spray or coat it with butter.

In the bowl of your mixer, whip together the butter and sugars until they’re light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time, and vanilla.

Mix together flour, baking powder, and salt. Beat into butter mixture in batches, mixing on low speed only long enough to incorporate everything together–overmixing will toughen up your cake. Mix in the chips with your last scoop of flour, so the chips get a little coated with flour before they go into the cake (this will keep them from sinking to the bottom of the pan in the oven).

Spread batter into your loaf pan and bake until a knife inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean–it was a little more than an hour for me. Cool it in the pan so it doesn’t break apart, carefully turn cooled cake onto a plate, and enjoy.

 

3 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake”

  1. Deborah August 17, 2011 at 5:30 am #

    This sounds very yummy! Can’t wait to make it!

  2. debbie koenig August 17, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Yum! For his birthday party this weekend, my son has requested a “Lightning McQueen cake that’s chocolate chip with strawberry frosting.” I haven’t seen a layer cake with chocolate chips, but I’ve been tinkering & I think I’ve got a handle on it. The strawberry frosting will go between layers, perhaps. And the McQueen thing, well, just please pray for me. Cake decorating is so not my forte.

  3. carrie August 23, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Ha ha, Debbie, I’m the same way–cake decorating not my forte at ALL. This reminds me of chocolate chip cupcakes I recently made from Martha Stewart’s site and sounds good. In defense of pastry flour, it does really make a difference, I’ve found, when it’s called for. It makes a really delicate crumb and absorbs fats and liquids differently. However, I’d be curious to try this with the original recipe and your adaptation and see the differences.

Leave a Reply

