Trick Your Canned or Frozen Corn

23 Aug

Once or twice a month, you’ll find my family at our favorite restaurant, enjoying fajitas, burritos, and, for me, a yummy barbecue chicken chopped salad. I’m not a huge salad lover, truth be told, but the combination of barbecued chicken and fresh greens and veggies is among my favorite meals.

We took the kids to the beach last weekend and, sandy and exhausted, stopped at a Panera for dinner on our way home. They have a barbecue chicken chopped salad on the menu, and having stuffed myself with fried yumminess and caramel popcorn earlier in the day, I ordered it–fresh and light sounded wonderful. This salad lacked the chopped avocado of my favorite, but kicked its butt in the flavor department. It took me a minute, but I figured out the difference.

Roasted corn. Just a bit of browning on the corn kernels boosted their flavor in an amazing way–I really couldn’t believe the difference. And so I tried it today while making my own barbecue chopped salad for lunch, with the same effect.

It’s very simple. Preheat your broiler (to low, if yours lets you choose a temperature). Drain canned or frozen (and thawed) corn and spread it on a cookie sheet in a single layer. Pop that under the broiler for about five minutes, or until it starts to brown along the tops and edges:

Turn on your exhaust fan. It’s a little smokey.

Once you have some brown on the corn, take it out of the oven, cool on the baking sheet, and toss it into your salad. You won’t believe how good this simple trick is!

(You can absolutely do this with fresh corn, but it’s a great trick for frozen or canned when fresh isn’t at its peak.)

 

Don’t forget my giveaway!! It’s super easy!

1) “Like” Playing With My Dinner on Facebook and post a note on the wall saying hi so I know you’re new in town, or

2) Convince a friend to “like” the blog and post a note telling me you referred them, and…

You can win a $30 giftcard to Williams-Sonoma! Buy yourself a super fun present to have even more fun by the stove! Like the blog or refer a friend by September 1 to enter!

3 Responses to “Trick Your Canned or Frozen Corn”

  1. carrie August 23, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Roasted corn is great. You can also do it on the stovetop really easily if you don’t want to turn the oven on in the summer time.

  2. Carrie August 30, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Trader Joe’s sells bags of roasted corn, in the freezer section. It is divine. Last time my mother-in-law was up for a visit, I served it as a side dish with something like tamale pie. She was fascinated, and wondered how on earth we had managed to get the “writing” on the corn! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Canned Corn - What You Should Know! | canningfoodnews - July 2, 2012

    […] Eats: Tasty Recipes from Across the CountryRecipe: Shepard’s Pie with Mashed Potatoes/SquashTrick Your Canned or Frozen Corn jQuery(document).ready(function() { jQuery("#dropmenu ul").css({display: "none"}); // Opera Fix […]

Leave a Reply

