A Cookbook Winner and A Giveaway Winner!

2 Sep

Happy Friday, y’all!

My brother and sister-in-law were kind enough to give me a bookstore giftcard for my birthday this year, and with it, I snagged the above cookbook–Sweet Magic, by Michel Richard.

**swoon**

Those of you who’ve been around here for awhile know about my little foodie crush on the owner of Citronelle, Central, and Michel. If you’re new, I can explain it in one sentence.

Michel Richard is a master of flavors and textures, but he also believes that food should be FUN, both in eating and cooking. He encourages playing with food, and all kinds of food, from the finest cuts of meat all the way to Cocoa Puffs. Which is pretty darned awesome, especially for one of the world’s most highly-regarded chefs.

This book is no exception. I finally had a chance to curl up in my favorite chair yesterday afternoon and read it, cover to cover. You’ll want to do the same thing–the book not only contains amazing dessert recipes, but dozens of wonderful stories, along with Richard’s drawings and paintings of his food. I found myself laughing out loud, nodding along, and almost cheering at some points.

Case in point: You know how most of the big-name chefs insist that you melt chocolate in double-boilers? Pain in the rear, yes? Richard has no patience for it and says there’s no reason to pull out so much stuff and wash so many pans when you have a microwave at your disposal.

Alleluia, my friend. Preach it.

You’ll also find out about Richard’s fondness for KFC, donuts, and chocolate chip cookies; hear the story about the dogs he set up when a wedding cake was damaged in transit (one of my favorite food stories), and learn a ton about the tools and techniques you actually need in your kitchen, and those you can toss away in favor of simpler ideas. Along the way, you’ll consider ingredients from homemade puff pastry to Cocoa Pebbles (I’m not kidding–he makes a dessert with them), and hear a whole bunch about having fun playing with your food. As a bonus, there are quite a few gluten-free desserts (including a Buche de Noel) that are made that way not because of the demand for such sweets, but because they just taste better that way.

Sweet Magic is a winner from cover to cover. The recipes are wonderful, the stories are entertaining, the illustrations are whimsical, and the whole experience is fun. I recommend it.

NOW…

We have a winner from our giveaway! Lots of you “liked” the blog on Facebook and I’m so excited about that! I hope you’ll stick around and play with us!

The winner of the $30 Williams-Sonoma giftcard is…MELODEE DONLAN! Yay!! Melodee, shoot me a message through Facebook or leave a note on the wall with your email address, and I’ll get your gift right out to you (and then please let us know what you bought!).

Thanks to everybody who played this time. More giveaways to come. Have a wonderful weekend!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

