Super-Fast Friday: Cinnamon Honey Butter

23 Sep

A new outpost of a locally-famous restaurant opened in our favorite getaway spot and we were lucky enough to try it during its first week. Fabulous menu–crab cakes (real ones. Like, with crab. Not a lot of filler. Amen.) and shrimp and scallops and rockfish and all sorts of yummies. Lovely decor–very cabin, adirondack, which was perfect for its new lakeside berth. Outstanding reputation before it even opened its doors.

DH had eaten at the original restaurant and he was telling me all of this before we tried the new one. Know what he was most excited about?

The butter.

They have honey butter, he told me, but it’s the best honey butter you’ve ever had in your life.

Crossed fingers and a few hopeful glimpses toward heaven that afternoon were rewarded with a wooden board of warm bread and a little pot of honey butter at our inaugural dinner at the restaurant, and we scarfed it down (I’ve told y’all we’re a carb-loving family. I wasn’t kidding.). And when the poor server came to clear our table for our real food, DH’s face dropped towards the floor and I had to psst her and point all secret-like and half-whisper that she was breaking the poor man’s heart, and she took pity and brought us even more honey butter and warm bread, and now that’s our favorite restaurant.

I digress.

The honey butter was amazing, and I asked what else was in it besides honey and butter; you all should try this trick, by the way. Restaurants are usually more than willing to share their secrets if you smile and say please and thank you and all the other things your mom tried to teach you along the way. Anyway, the answer was cinnamon. Not enough so you’d recognize it, but enough to give that butter an extra yum at the end.

Last night, being In A Mood and needing comfort, I baked a batch of sweet bread rolls (recipe coming–stay tuned) and then made some cinnamon honey butter of my own. This morning, I was all but canonized by my family. It’s that good. It’s also super easy–less than three minutes start to finish–and will keep beautifully in your refrigerator, just like butter. Take it out a little while before you want to eat some so it softens up or pop it in the microwave for five-second increments until it gets creamy if you’re in a hurry, and enjoy at your whim.

My directions tell you to change your mixer attachments halfway through–this, of course, only applies if you’re using a stand mixer with said attachments. If not, ignore that and keep on going. A hand mixer will absolutely work just as well, without changing anything.

Give this a shot, gang. Your family will flip. In a good way. You need:

1/2 cup of butter at room temperature (that’s a stick and STOP IT with the gasping–you make this and keep it and use it a little at a time)

1/4 cup of honey (spray your mixing cup with nonstick spray before you measure. Trust me.)

1/2 tsp of cinnamon

Using your paddle attachment (if applicable), whip the butter around until it’s fluffy in the bowl. Add your honey and mix that together until it’s well incorporated. Then, switch to your whisk attachment. Slowly (so it doesn’t poof up in your face) add the cinnamon and blend it in, and then crank up your mixer to whip it all together.

Store in your refrigerator in a sealed plastic or glass container. Enjoy your time on the pedestal your family is about to erect in your honor. ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 Responses to “Super-Fast Friday: Cinnamon Honey Butter”

  1. Laura September 23, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Oh my gosh, I love it when the restaurant has “special” butter. How did they know? Except if they really knew, they would not serve me the special butter because then I might decide to make the bread my main course.
    Now, so dangerous, I can make my own! Thanks Kim.

  2. Stephanie Jones September 23, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Hi, I recently subscribed to your blog because your recipes are “real.” I haven’t made this butter yet, but I told my husband about it and he’s already working on that pedestal! :o) Love your blog! Steph

  3. Deborah September 26, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    Colton has been obsessed with cinnamon lately. We are going to try this, for sure!!!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. mom22boys10 September 26, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    That sounds so good. Definitely going to try it.

Leave a Reply

