Crockpot Steak Tacos

27 Sep

The cookbook (Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook, by Beth Hensperger and Julie Kaufmann) called these fajitas, and I guess they probably are. But I have to listen to howls of protest when I say fajitas and none when I pull out the hard shells and call them tacos, so they’re tacos. My ears are happier.

We liked these, but I have to tell you I was disappointed in the texture. I’m new at this whole steak thing and even newer at beef-in-the-Crockpot, but the meat fell apart when I pulled it out of the crock, so slicing against the grain (which is what the cookbook said to do) was pretty well impossible. They taste wonderful, don’t get me wrong. It just wasn’t quite what I was expecting, which probably says more about my inexperience in this area than the recipe.

We served these in hard-shell tacos (and thus, they’re marked gluten-free) with guacamole, cheese, and salsa. I had mine as a salad, which was quite good. The family seemed happy enough and truth be told, I was too tired by last night to drill through “how’s your dinner,” which I usually ask, so I took silence as an endorsement and let it slide. I also forgot to take a photo and apologize for that.

Definitely worth trying, and I’d love to hear anyone else’s experience with beef in the crockpot, and cuts that might be more sliceable than others after cooking in there. You need:

3/4 cup salsa (any salsa your family likes)

1 tbsp tomato paste

1 tbsp olive oil

1 clove garlic, minced

The juice of a lime

A sprinkling of salt and pepper

1 1/2 pounds flank steak

1 onion, sliced

2 red peppers, sliced into 1/2 inch strips

In a bowl, combine everything up to the steak and stir well. Spray your slow cooker with nonstick spray. Lay your steak inside, pour the sauce over it, and lay the peppers and onions on top of that–don’t mix them in. Cover and cook on low 6 – 8 hours.

Remove veggies from the pot (I served them on top of our tacos). Lift out the meat and let it be for about 10 minutes, then slice (as best you can) against the grain. Serve.

7 Responses to “Crockpot Steak Tacos”

  1. Laura September 27, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    The kids are just starting to be interested in tacos.
    I think I might have to give this one a try! Thanks!

  2. Doran September 27, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Thanks Kim– Will try tomorrow night–

  3. debbie koenig September 27, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Speaking as a slow cooker-lover (and a fan of that cookbook): When it comes to meat don’t expect a firm, sliceable texture. The machine is fabulous for things like stews & briskets & other long braises, where you’re not looking for pretty slices. In the case of these tacos, I’d shred/chop the steak lengthwise and say it’s supposed to be that way! I do ropa viejo in a similar way.

  4. Eileen October 5, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    This sounds great! And my kids also protest when I say “fajitas.” (What are fajitas? I don’t like fajitas.) 🙂

  5. Deborah October 11, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    I made these last night and they were de-lish!!!! I had some steaks in the freezer that were perfect for the crockpot (not the best cuts of meat). Thanks so much for the recipe. Leftovers tonight!!!!!!

  6. June January 6, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    The one thing you can do is buy the heart friendly Bisquick. The rule of measuring is for every 1.5 lb double on the ingredients I give you.
    2 tablespoons of Bisquick
    salt and pepper
    put in plastic bag.
    slightly rinse the steak and put in bag.
    shake and coat.
    heat 1 table spoon oil in frying pan and just slightly brown
    then put in crock pot and continue with your recipe.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. National Taco Day Recipe Round-Up — Cooking Clarified - October 4, 2011

    […] Crockpot Steak Tacos from Playing With My Dinner […]

Leave a Reply

