Froached Eggs

10 Jan

Show of hands: How many of y’all are addicted to Pinterest?

Me too. It is the ultimate window shopping experience, only there are tons of fantabulous ideas and projects and recipes there right alongside stuff you can buy. Creative heaven and ginormous time suck. Addicting to the nth degree.

One of the recipes I’ve seen floating around recently has been the perfect fried egg. It caught my eye because it was ridiculously easy and used almost no fat, which makes it fit in very nicely with my healthier-living New Year’s resolution (day 10!). Eggs are delicious and filled with all sorts of nutrients, so enjoying them without added oil or butter was too temping to not try. I printed out the pin, followed the directions, and held my breath.

Breakfast, y’all. This really did make a perfect fried egg. Well, it’s a cross between a fried egg and a poached egg, so I’m calling it “froached” (because I’m clever like that). No matter what you call it, it was delicious with a smidge of No-Salt and a slice of warm toast, and cleanup was a total snap–you’re steaming the eggs at the end, and the steam lifts those beauties right off the pan for you. No-scrub eggs. Tell me that’s not brilliant.

Pinterest success! Give this a shot, and if you need a Pinterest invite, I have lots to share–just leave me a comment with your email address. For a perfectly froached breakfast you need:

Two eggs

Olive oil spray

A tablespoon of water

Heat a small pan over medium heat until it’s good and hot–give it a few minutes. Once you’re there, spray it with olive oil and immediately crack your eggs in there, taking care not to break the yolks. Cook them for one minute, and then add a tablespoon of water to the pan, lower the flame down to low, clamp a lid on it, and let it be for two or three minutes (mine took three, but it’s going to depend on your pan and your stove). Remove your perfect eggs with a slotted spatula and enjoy.

5 Responses to “Froached Eggs”

  1. Holly Davis January 10, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I am going to try this, too! I am glad to hear you got a good result.

  2. Alien January 10, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    This is so funny. Only because growing up, this was the ONLY way my mom made us our eggs. Ever. I’m not lying when I say that I had no idea what an “over easy” egg was until I was much older because I never saw my mom flip them over. LOL! It’s good to see it’s a method still used. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. kharmaisis January 10, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Pinterest: just got on and am trying to avoid the addiction until this weekend but OMG it is amazing, I LOVE it!!! I am planning a wedding for a friend and just told her to get on so we can share wedding dress pics and flowers etc. Great tool!

    Btw, Kim, I LOVE your blog and didn’t know about it until Lon mentioned it recently (I cook and recently started a food blog myself – http://www.adashofkharmaisis.com) I got on Joe for not telling me about it especially since he and I just had a conversation at the staff dinner about cooking. Men – what can you do? LOL

    We should have dinner soon (let someone else cook for us for once!) I will coordinate with your hubby.

  4. geena January 10, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    I might have to try my eggs this way tomorrow morning!

    would love a pinterest invite please ๐Ÿ™‚ geenalyn@rogers.com

  5. Aviva Goldfarb January 15, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    This has rocked my world!! No more globbly eggs. Thanks, Kim.

Leave a Reply

