Cornbread Waffles

7 Feb

Swamped.

Again.

*Sigh*

I’ve been intrigued by the concept of corn waffles since I heard about them a few months ago. I know they’re a Big Deal in the south, where they’re usually served with fried chicken, but we’re not southern and we don’t eat fried chicken…ever. But still, I was intrigued. We like waffles and we love cornbread, and so when I found myself with a blessed hour last week, I hunkered down and made a double batch of these.

Everyone loved them. The kids declared them the best waffles ever, in fact. DS ate his with butter and DD and I had ours with a touch of maple syrup. They combine the crispy-chewy of a traditional waffle with a little bit of the inside crunch and delicious sweetness of a corn muffin.

They’re not health food. I know. I had one waffle. OK? I blog about food–it’s my duty, really. And if you can’t have a treat every so often, there’s not a lot of point in taste buds–and we are gifted with a lot of those. Don’t let ’em go to waste all the time.

This is pretty much Mark Bittman’s recipe, doubled. Use a very large bowl to mix these up. The beauty of this is that they freeze really really well and heat up nicely in the toaster, and you’ll have a nice big bag to stick in your freezer and pull a few out for breakfast every so often. That has so many advantages over store-bought frozen waffles that I can’t even begin to fit it all in here; let’s just say no chemicals, no preservatives, and no icky additives.

You will need to break out your mixer. It’ll be OK. It takes three minutes, and the results are totally worth it. Give it a try. You need (don’t freak out–like I said, this makes a huge pile o’ waffles and you’ll have a freezer stocked with ’em at the end):

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups cornmeal (I used finely ground)

1 tsp salt

4 tbsp sugar

6 tsp baking powder

3 cups milk

4 eggs, separated

1 stick butter, melted and cooled

1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat your waffle iron and brush it with oil if yours needs it.

Combine all the dry stuff in a big bowl–I used my huge batter bowl.

Use your electric mixer to beat up your egg whites (you need the yolks in a minute) until they look like clouds–soft and puffy and white.

Stir the milk, egg yolks, butter, and vanilla into your dry mixture. Very gently fold in your egg whites until everything is combined. Bake on your waffle iron as directed (I had mine on a medium-low setting; just keep an eye on yours if it doesn’t have a temperature selector), slightly underbaking the ones you plan to keep for later so they don’t burn when you pop them into a toaster to heat them up.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

