Must-Have Gadget: Fish Spatula

17 May

Before you start whining about fish and how you don’t like fish and don’t eat fish and don’t want to deal with fish and your kitchen and smells and picky children…this has nothing to do with fish.

(Can you tell what kind of morning we had?)

I made cookies last night (and again this morning, thanks to my evil, evil dog figuring out after two years that she can actually reach the goodies on my countertop. Anybody want a dog who may or may not have gastro issues later? Cheap?) and realized that I’d never talked to you all about my fish spatula. Which, as far as I’m concerned, is about the best $12 you can spend in the gadget aisle at your local Target.

Fish spatulas were designed for seafood. They’re long and slim and wafer-thin, and were made that way to support flaky fillets between your pan and plate. But that same skinny, slender design makes them among the best multi-taskers in your kitchen. They slide right under all sorts of fragile things. Cookies, pancakes (oh my gosh, they revolutionize pancakes), omelets, poached eggs, tortillas…you name it. And because they’re much longer than normal spatulas, they’re super easy to handle without worrying about your sensitive fingertips, particularly when you’re working with a grill or griddle.

Most of these have metal business ends. Mine is plastic, and it works just fine. It’s a KitchenAid only because that’s what was on sale–you absolutely do not need any kind of fancy-schmancy brand. I bought it about six months ago and can’t believe I survived so long in my kitchen without one. They’re very reasonably priced on Amazon or in the gadget aisle of whatever store is near to you, and I highly recommend picking one up and putting it to use, even if fish doesn’t enter your house.

That’s my gadget o’ the day. So tell me: What’s your favorite?

11 Responses to “Must-Have Gadget: Fish Spatula”

  1. Laura May 17, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    Ooh, never heard of a fish spatula, seen as I am allergic to fish, but wow, the things I could do with this! Thanks!

  2. Ali May 17, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    I really love my lemon reamer. It’s so great for making salad dressings or marinades quickly with lemon.

    • Kim May 17, 2012 at 10:01 am #

      I love my lemon reamer too! I also love my Pampered Chef citrus juicer because it measures as I ream. Time savers like that are huge. 🙂

  3. Sarah Christensen January 8, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

    I just love the fish spatula. In fact, I love the spatulas so much that I just opened Spatula Mart on the internet. I would love your opinion of the site… And if you could tell others, I would really appreciate the jump start for my new endeavor!

  4. Joseph Bell April 8, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    I have to point out my love for your kind-heartedness for folks who require guidance on this one content. Your special dedication to passing the message all-around appeared to be certainly good and has continually encouraged girls like me to arrive at their targets. This important guideline denotes a great deal a person like me and even more to my peers. Thanks a lot; from everyone of us

  5. fake oakleys April 8, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    Oakley sunglasses are absolutely intended for the discerning customers who don wish to compromise when it comes to quality. However that does not imply that it beyond the reach of the typical income group. There are several websites on the web that offers you high high quality Oakley sunglass, at rock base rates. Take some time and sit at the computer and search for reliable websites that are in the commercial of offering authentic Oakley shades, at highly competitive rates. A little research is required to come across such websites. fake oakleys

  6. barbour jacket australia November 18, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    Males Fundamentals – Polo Tshirt

  7. far cry fast download October 18, 2014 at 4:25 pm #

    The short intro is wonderfully able to both causing you
    to resent the privilege of the protagonist and his ilk, and filling you with higher revulsion at their inhuman therapy by.

  8. Emulateur 3Ds Android Gratuit November 10, 2014 at 12:47 pm #

    Mooi j’ai tĂ©lĂ©charger uun Ă©mulateur 3ds!

    Pokémon! Zelda!

  9. jeu téléchargement gratuit November 10, 2014 at 1:50 pm #

    Hay says the overall game isn’t making any geopolitical stage, meaning it isn’t interested in discussing any particular political scenario, though
    there are solid parallels with Nepal during its decade-long civil
    battle, which ended in 2006.

  10. tiffany blue nike June 23, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

    Mycelex), Miconazole(Micatin), Terbinafine(Lamisil at the), Plus Tolnaftate(Tinactin). Whether individuals should not

Leave a Reply

